Subscribe to industry newsletters

AMASA Jo'burg proudly announces the first ever AMASA Awards

As AMASA grows rapidly year on year, it becomes a bigger imperative for the governing body to add more focus on celebrating and sharing high standards of work, innovation, executions, trends and strategy within the media and advertising industry. Therefore this year, AMASA is proud to announce the first ever AMASA Awards.

The AMASA Awards will celebrate 'all-rounder' media campaigns; ones which are based on sound insights, underpinned by great ideas, followed through with perfectly executed strategy to achieve outstanding and measurable results - all the while celebrating INNOVATION!

Why the new format?

AMASA Jo'burg proudly announces the first ever AMASA Awards
Wayne Bischoff, AMASA's Jo'burg chairman, explains: "The new format of the AMASA Awards has been created to not only launch a larger celebration of industry work but also to build on the famous Roger Garlick Awards from previous years to include new categories for entry. The industry is fast changing to include new media formats and AMASA wants to reflect these innovations with our award categories. We encourage all media agencies, strategists, creative agencies, marketers and media owners in the media industry to start formulating their great entries."

The AMASA Awards entries are now open as the association calls out to all media practitioners countrywide to show off their best work implemented between 1 July 2013 - 30 June 2014* in order to inspire the industry as a whole and give their media ideas and campaigns a longer shelf life.

The new awards format hosts 20 new categories and will include the Roger Garlick Grand Prix which will be awarded to the best work presented overall. The winner of the Roger Garlick Grand Prix will have their work submitted into the international Festival of Media Awards sponsored by AMASA. The Ignition Award introduced in 2013, which is aimed at students'work, will remain a segment of the new AMASA Awards.

The new categories include:
  • Best Integrated Campaign (this will be by client category):
    • Best Integrated Campaign: FMCG
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Transport
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Other Consumer Goods (including durables &telco)
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Financial
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Public Services
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Travel, Entertainment & Leisure
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Retail (includes e-commerce & QSR)
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Media
    • Best Integrated Campaign: B2B
    • Best Integrated Campaign: Cause Related
  • Best Branded Content Campaign
  • Best Experiential/Event Campaign
  • Best Online Campaign
  • Best Social Media Strategy
  • Best Use of Mobile
  • Best Use Of Technology
  • Best Sponsorship
  • Best Contribution by a Media Owner
  • Ignition Award
The Ignition Award for students currently studying media went to Michelle Venter-Davies from Vega School of Brand Leadership.

How to enter:

To enter, agencies should fill in the AMASA Awards form found on the AMASA website at and can email completed forms to az.gro.asama@sdrawa. Entrants are welcome to enter the same entry into various categories if they wish. Entrants are also encouraged to submit an entry video to add to their submission. Campaigns entered should be authentic, signed off by the respective client and entries should indicate how the campaign delivered on the quantifiable goals set and generated sound commercial results.

Entries opened on 25 June and will close on 31 July 2014. After the closing date a judging panel led by industry representatives will shortlist the entries which will be announced on 11 August. Final winners will be announced and celebrated at the first ever AMASA Awards Gala Evening on 21 August.

Cost to enter is R1,100.00 including VAT. All entries to be accompanied by proof of payment. Banking details are on the entry form.

For any award criteria, entry forms and further information please visit

*Agencies to please note that for the 2014 AMASA Awards there is a slight overlap with last year's RGA awards for campaign validity dates. Any submission entered into last year's RGA will not be accepted into the AMASA Awards 2014.

Let's do Biz