Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Entries are open for AMASA's Roger Garlick Award

The Advertising Media Association of South Africa (AMASA) has officially opened entries for the Roger Garlick Award which recognises exceptional innovation in media. Entries close on the 13th February. Judges for the 2008 Roger Garlick Awards will be looking for entries with strong strategy as the underlying factor.

“We have streamlined the judging process and will be examining entries for specific aspects which illustrate smart communication of the concept, innovative use of media and the overall effectiveness of entered campaigns,” says Brad Aigner, Deputy AMASA Chair and Roger Garlick Award co-ordinator. “More importantly, we are looking for a strong emphasis on a sustainable strategy behind these campaigns. Campaigns that exceed the client brief through innovative use of media, backed by a solid strategy will come out tops.”

Entered campaigns must be authentic, signed off by client, and flighted between 1 January and 31 December 2007. Entries should be submitted by one person only which should be pre-agreed upon by the relevant parties.

The categories for the 2008 Roger Garlick Award are:

  • Best use of Television
  • Best Use of Cinema
  • Best use of Radio
  • Best use of Magazine
  • Best use of Newspaper
  • Best use of Out of Home
  • Best use of New Media (Web and Mobile)
  • Special Events / Stunts
  • Multiple / Mixed media
  • Best use of Sponsorships
  • This year's overall Roger Garlick Award winner will walk away with R25 000 cash and each AMASA Gold recipient will be awarded R5000.

    The cost per entry is R550 inclusive of VAT. For Award criteria and entry forms, visit

    Let's do Biz