Packaging News South Africa

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Adobe celebrates winners of 10th annual Design Achievement Awards

LOS ANGELES, US/JOHANNESBURG, SA: Adobe Systems Incorporated has announced the winners of its 10th annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards (ADAA), celebrating global student achievements that bring technology and the creative arts together.
Adobe celebrates winners of 10th annual Design Achievement Awards

The awards honour the most talented and promising student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers, developers and computer artists from the world's top higher-education institutions. Since the ADAAs began in 2001, close to 20 000 students across 52 countries have participated in this competition.

"The Adobe Design Achievement Award competition attracts the best student designers in the world. We feel fortunate to be able to shine a light on these future creative leaders," said Ann Lewnes, senior vice president of corporate marketing, Adobe.

For the second consecutive year, Adobe has collaborated with Icograda, International Council of Graphic Design Associations, to attract student submissions from the Icograda Education Network, and select an international panel of design experts to judge the awards.

Winners were recognised in 12 categories across interactive media, film and motion and traditional media:

  • Browser-Based Design - Tiago Cabaco, "Case Study: Kalvika,"
    Academy of Art University, United States
  • Non-Browser Based Design - Anthony Mattox, "Pulsus," Maryland
    Institute College of Art, United States
  • Application Development - Andrew Mahon and Zeke Shore,
    "VoxPop," Parsons The New School for Design, United States
  • Mobile Design - Laura Bordin, "Heart Lift," IUAV University of
    Venice, Italy
  • Installation Design - a team led by Marco Werner, "Buchmesse
    2009," Dortmund University of Applied Science, Germany
  • Animation - Napatsawan Chirayukool, "What Makes Your Day?"
    Kingston University, United Kingdom
  • Live Action - Victor Aloji, "Ad Against Child Sexual Abuse,"
    Hamburger Technische Kunstschule, Germany
  • Motion Graphics - Edeline Bernal, "29," York
    University/Sheridan College, Canada
  • Illustration - Soonkyu Jang, "World Championship 2010,"
    Dankook, Korea
  • Packaging - Linna Xu, "Ilford Film," York University/Sheridan
    College, Canada
  • Photography - Natalia Luzenko, "To Wait and See,"
    Fachhochschule Wuerzburg-Schweinfurt, Germany
  • Print Communications - Chiharu Tanaka, "MONYO+MOJI," Academy

    of Art University, United States.

The winning entries can be viewed at ADAA Gallery (, along with the 2010 finalists and those who have placed and won over the previous nine years.

Judges include: Meg Barbour (United States), principal/"first chair" at The Barbour Shop, a renowned post-production shop for TV, film, Web and mobile; Steve Cornwell (Australia), CEO of brand identity company, Cornwell Design; Diego Marini (France), Accelerated Solution Environment network graphic designer and art director; Bruno Porto (Brazil), graphic designer, educator and consultant; Kevin Slavin (United States), managing director and co-founder of Area/Code, creators of cross-media games and entertainment; Erik Spiekermann (Germany), creative director of Edenspiekermann and former ambassador for the European Year of Creativity and Innovation; and Lawrence Zeegen, head of school of communication design, Kingston University (United Kingdom).

Let's do Biz