Digital News South Africa

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Digital Dzonga Advisory Council: who's who

The 15 new members of Digital Dzonga Advisory Council were announced by minister of communications Siphiwe Nyanda on Friday, 20 August 2010. The council will advise the minister on and oversee the complex process of migrating South Africa's analogue broadcasting services to a new digital technology, known as digital terrestrial television (DTT).

Appointed for a five-year term, the new members are:

  • Prof Mamokgethi Setati (chairperson)
  • Ruddy Rashama (deputy chairperson)
  • Nomvuyiso Batyi
  • Dingane Dube
  • Calvo Mawela
  • Karen Willenberg
  • Zubair Munshi
  • Sabelo Silinga
  • Richard Paulton
  • Adv Cawekazi Mahlati
  • Llewellyn Jones
  • Julia Hope
  • Masodi Xaba
  • Hlukanisa Zitha
  • Rosey Sekese (DOC)

The 15 members were drawn from nominations submitted by the public, following an invitation by the Department of Communications made in April 2010; 51 names were submitted for consideration. This list included nominees from a variety of backgrounds such as regulatory, signal distribution, legal, broadcasting, labour, consumer groups and government.

Deputy minister Dina Pule chaired the short listing and the selection panel, which comprised officials from the department's executive commitee and ministry.

Nyanda wishes the new members well and has expressed his trust that they will use their wide-ranging expertise to ensure a smooth and successful transition from analogue to digital broadcasting.

For more:

Let's do Biz