Digital News South Africa


Elections 2024

Michael Beaumont says Election Polls are a joke and there is more to come from Action SA

Michael Beaumont says Election Polls are a joke and there is more to come from Action SA

Advertise your job ad
    Search jobs

    Biggest & most diverse Pentawards jury announced

    The jury panel for the 2022 Pentawards has been announced. The awards jury is the biggest to date and includes 50 design experts from 20 countries from 25 brands, 25 agencies and an NGO from across four continents.
    Source: © kchung
    Source: © kchung 123rf

    New additions to the jury include, among others, IKEA, Estée Lauder, Coty, Mars Food, Huda Beauty and Weber Inc. Their inclusion grows the awards, which recognise global packaging design excellence, in the beauty, luxury fragrances and household goods sectors as well as beverages and food.

    “I cannot wait to get started on this year’s judging, this year’s panel is absolutely stellar! We continue to evolve, to learn new ways to work together, as Daft Punk would say "harder, better, faster, stronger,” says Clem Halpin, president of the Pentawards jury and design lead at Taxi Studio added.

    This year’s jury also includes 17 female judges - an increase of five from the 2021 panel.

    “As a panel we are more inclusive, more diverse, more reflective of the global nature of the Pentawards than ever,” says Halpin.

    Sustainable packaging

    This year’s expanded jury also reflects Pentawards’ ongoing commitment to championing sustainable packaging with sustainability experts from WWF and Beiersdorf joining the Pentawards Sustainable Design Jury, which launched last year to recognise the progress being made by brands, manufacturers and designers across the globe in the sustainable packaging area.

    “The Pentawards is a crucial platform for raising awareness of the importance of design excellence in our modern society and I’m grateful for the opportunity to join the jury,” says Paula Chin, sustainable materials specialist at WWF.

    “We’re facing ever-increasing global challenges - not least the triple crisis of climate change, biodiversity and nature loss, and pollution and waste – so the creation of a Sustainable Design category is extremely welcome.

    “Over 80% of a product’s environmental impact is determined at the design stage so this community has a vital role to play in tackling these challenges and delivering better outcomes for people and the planet,” she adds.

    2022 Pentawards Jury

  • Clem Halpin – President Pentawards Jury,design lead, Taxi Studio - UK
  • Philip Neufeldt –– creative director, Estée Lauder – France
  • Wendy Annonay –senior director, packaging design & development, Huda Beauty – UAE
  • David Gadd –– global design directory, Mars Food – UK
  • Marta Suslow –– sustainable innovation & transformation, Beiersdorf – Germany
  • Caitlin Field – associate creative director, Amazon Kitchen Creative, Amazon – US
  • Paula Chin – sustainable materials specialist, WWF – UK
  • Jennie Potts – design director, B&B Studio –– UK
  • Andy Liu –– founder & chief creative officer, Shenzhen Oracle Design – China
  • Eisuke Tachikawa –– CEO of Nosigner & JIDA president, Nosigner – Japan
  • Luke Li – creative lead / art director, IKEA – Sweden
  • Neha Tulsian –founder & creative director, NH1 Design – India
  • Gaël Le Bourges –R&D packaging senior director, Fragrances and Luxury Cosmetics, Coty - France
  • Hernán Braberman – executive design director, Tridimage – Argentina
  • Evelio Mattos – founder / host, Package Design Unboxd – US
  • Paul Roeters – creative director, Studio Kluif – Netherlands
  • Paco Adin – creative director, Supperstudio – Spain
  • Stepan Azaryan – creative director, Backbone Branding – Armenia
  • Pavla Chuykina – graphic designer, – Russia
  • Camille de Dominicis – – co-founder, brand director, Eminente by Moët Hennessy – France
  • XiongBo Deng – creative director, ShenZhen Lingyun Creative Packaging Design Co. LTD – China
  • Mario Di Paolo – founder and creative director, Spazio Di Paolo – Italy
  • Jamie Ellul – creative director, Supple Studio – UK
  • Teman Evans – global head of design, General Mills – USA
  • John Glasgow – ECD & co-founder, Vault 49 – USA
  • Steve Honour – design and visual identity leader, innovation, Europe & Africa, Diageo – UK
  • Guozheng Jiang – NX Creative – founder – China
  • Emily Kokenge – vice president, design innovation & global capability, P&G – Switzerland
  • Titha Kraemer – partner &director, Bendito Design – Brazil
  • Chen Lu – design director, Xiaomi - China
  • Kevin Marshall – creative director of design, Microsoft – US
  • Daniele Monti – vice president, global creative Weber Inc – US
  • Ippei Murata – creative partner, Shiseido – Japan
  • Sam O’Donaghue – founder & creative director, Established – US
  • Jon Rathbone – packaging design lead, Facebook / meta – US
  • Brian Rice – vice president, chief brand and design officer 3M Design, 3M – US
  • Kevin Lan – creative director, Superunion – UK
  • Tatiana Ryfer – head of branding & visual identity, Carrefour – France
  • Sebastien Servaire – CEO & designer, Servaire & Co – France
  • Bruno Singulani – global head of brand identity & design, Nestlé – Switzerland
  • Helle Søegaard Rasmussen – senior creative manager, LEGO – Denmark
  • Jane Struk – art director, Depot branding agency – Russia
  • Beatriz Suárez López – co-founder and Head of strategy, Estudio Maba – Spain
  • Richard Walzer - design director, breakthrough innovation, PepsiCo Europe - UK
  • Chloe Templeman – creative director, Design Bridge – UK
  • Uwe Melichar – epda president and managing partner, Melichar Bros – Germany
  • Silke Bochat – head of design, Europe Africa-Eurasia, Colgate Palmolive - Germany
  • Robert Taylor – director of sustainability, UPM Raflatac - Finland
  • Kevin Shaw – founder, Stranger & Stranger- US
  • Jenny Greenwood – innovation & sustainability manager, Butterfly Cannon –UK
  • Entries for the competition open 14 February, and the 2022 Shortlist will be revealed in July.

    Let's do Biz