#RecruitmentFocus

SPONSORED BY:


More...
Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

It's time to Get Kraken

Ahoy, mateys! Are you ready for a tale of high jinks on the high seas? An adventure filled with poachers, pirates, a submarine, a spaceship, and a whale? Then I suggest you get down to the University of Cape Town's Little Theatre and get ready to Get Kraken.
The show delighted audiences when it previewed at Alexander Bar earlier this month as part of Play Things, a monthly platform for artists to showcase new work. "Play Things was started so that artists from different fields could have a space to try out stuff," said writer Jon Keevy. "[With] Play Things we wanted to stimulate collaboration across art forms. People come and are surprised; whether they're in the audience or on stage they discover things they wouldn't ordinarily go looking for."

No fancy costumes or props



Get Kraken feels like a cross between The Old Man and the Sea, 20 000 Leagues under the Sea, Moby Dick, and so much more. "The challenge is that people, when you describe the story, automatically label it a kids' show," said director Kim Kerfoot (Master Harold and the Boys). "The audience loved it though. It's done in comic book, a physically demanding style in the vein of Andrew Buckland or Magnet Theatre."

Basically, that means there are no fancy costumes or props. It's just a case of four crazy actors - Shaun Acker, Stefan Erasmus, Dylan Esbach, and Jason Potgieter - using their bodies and voices to paint pictures so vivid you can practically smell the ocean air. It reminded me of last year's Mafeking Road, which explains why I couldn't stop laughing. All you need is your imagination and you'll be set for one seriously funny night!

Get Kraken (suitable for ages eight and up) is at the University of Cape Town's Intimate Theatre until 4 May. Tickets are R70 for adults, R50 for students, and R30 for everyone on Tuesdays. For bookings and enquiries, email or go to www.jonkeevy.com.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.

About Eugene Yiga

Eugene graduated from the University of Cape Town with distinctions in financial accounting and classical piano. He then spent over two-and-half years working in branding and communications at two of South Africa's top market research companies. Eugene also spent over three-and-a-half years at an eLearning start-up, all while building his business as an award-winning writer. Visit www.eugeneyiga.com, follow @eugeneyiga on Twitter, or email to say, um, hello.
Comment

Related

News