Subscribe to industry newsletters

EduWeek Africa education award winners

In celebration of all the innovators and service providers that are bridging the gap between education today, EduWeek Africa hosted its annual Education Insutry Awards ceremony on 15 June 2018 at the Ticketpro Dome in Johannesburg. The theme of the exhibition was 'Education 4.0 for Industry 4.0', which addressed education's response to increased automation and data exchange in most industries.
EduWeek annual Education Industry Awards ceremony<br>Image:  on Twitter
EduWeek annual Education Industry Awards ceremony
Image: @African_EduWeek on Twitter

The category nominees and winners are:

  1. Basic Education

    • Impaq
    • Edit Microsystems
    • OLICO Maths Education (Category winner)
    • Smart Choice
    • Snapplify

  2. TVET & Higher Education

    • Christiani GmbH
    • FESTO (Category winner)
    • Fundi
    • Snapplify

  3. Early Childhood Development

    • Edit Microsystems
    • Impaq
    • Mini Chess (Category winner)
    • Missing Link
    • Moves for Life

  4. Inclusive Education

    • Edit Microsystems (Category winner)
    • EXOLab
    • Sensory Solutions

  5. ICT

    • Edit Microsystems
    • Parrot Products
    • RS Components
    • Veative
    • Xander (Category winner)

  6. Innovation Award

    • Book for Every Child Foundation
    • Edit Microsystems (Category winner)
    • EXOLab
    • Veative

    Individual/Organisation Awards

  7. NGO Impact of the Year

    • FEDSAS
    • iSchoolAfrica Education Trust
    • ORT SA
    • Thanda
    • The Billion Child Foundation (Category winner)
    • Symphonia

  8. Institution Leader of the Year

    • Alan Whitaker, Founder & CEO, The Billion Child Foundation
    • Edward Mosuwe, Head of Department (Superintendent-General), Gauteng Department of Education, (Category winner)
    • Helen Louise Buhrs, CEO, Inscape Education Group (Pty) Ltd
    • Silas Moraila, Principal, Ngwanamatlang Secondary School
    • Makhubedu, Principal, Diepsloot Secondary No3

  9. ICT Implementer of the Year

    • Dr. Candice Livingston, Cape Peninsula University of Technology
    • Dr. Lynn Bowie (PhD Mathematics), Maths Coordinator at OLICO Maths Education (Category winner)
    • Dimakatso Sefora, HOD, Saron Primary school
    • Jason Fisher, Randfontein High School

  10. Inspiration Award

    • Kubeshini Govender, Chief Education Specialist, Western Cape Education Department
    • Alan Whitaker, CEO & Founder, The Billion Child Foundation
    • Khangelani W Sibiya, Maths and Science Teacher, Siphumelele Secondary School (Category winner)
    • Ashra Norton Norton, Director and Founder, The Leadership Colleges
    • Shanette Tiquin, Principal, Carleton Jones High School
    • Thato Mfikwe, President, ISOC Gauteng Chapter

  11. Lifetime Achievement Award

    • Paul Colditz, CEO at FEDSAS (Category winner)
    • Alan Whitaker, CEO & Founder, The Billion Child Foundation
    • Dr Ali Adam, Chairperson and Founder, 2 Oceans Education Foundation

Let's do Biz