Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Clio Awards announces 2019 jury that includes five judges from SA

The Clio Awards has announced its jury for the 2019 Awards, boasting a 50/50 gender-balanced ratio with a jury formed from creatives from 28 countries around the world and five jurors from South Africa.
Top: Sabine Heckman (creative director, FCB Africa) and Molefi Thulo (creative director at Ogilvy). Bottom: Meja Shoba (director at Ola! Films), Lourens van Rensburg (director at 7 Films) and Darrin Hofmeyr (CG supervisor at BlackGinger).

The South African jurors include Sabine Heckman (creative director, FCB Africa) and Molefi Thulo (creative director at Ogilvy) who both form part of the Audio and Audio Technique jury, Darrin Hofmeyr (CG supervisor at BlackGinger) who is on the Film Technique: Animation and Visual Effects jury and Meja Shoba (director at Ola! Films) and Lourens van Rensburg (director at 7 Films) who are both on the Film Technique: Direction and Cinematography jury.

The jury chairs include Fernando Machado (CMO of Burger King Global), Pelle Sjoenell (Worldwide CCO at BBH), Pum Lefebure (co-founder and CCO, Design Army), José Molla (founder and CCO, the community), Debbi Vandeven (global CCO VMLY&R), Rob Reilly (global creative chairman at McCann Worldgroup), Merlee Cruz-Jayme (chairmom/CCO at Dentsu Jayme Syfu) and Gail Heimann (president at Weber Shandwick).

You can view the full list of jurors here.

"We've come a long way since Clio started bringing together world industry leaders to celebrate creativity six decades ago," said Clio president Nicole Purcell in a statement. "We're so proud to reflect the evolution of our business with this year's jury, an extraordinary group of representatives from diverse nations, genders, ages and creative fields."
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.