Subscribe to industry newsletters

AMASA announces judges for 2003 Roger Garlick Awards

The Advertising Media Association of South Africa (AMASA) has announced its judging chairman and panel for the 2003 Roger Garlick Awards.
Chris Moerdyk will chair the 2003 Roger Garlick Awards jury, whilst members of the jury will include:

  • Colin Ramparsadh, Saatchi & Saatchi (Media)
  • Mike Nussey, Mindshare (Media)
  • Ken Varejes, ComutaNet (Media Owner)
  • Nomvula Matlare, TBWA Hunt Lascaris (Strategy)
  • Kresen Govender, ABSA (Marketer)
  • Mike Ellman-Brown, Herdbuoys McCann Erickson (Creative)
  • Sue Walker, TBWA Hunt Lascaris (AMASA)

    Says Kevin Kirby, head of AMASA's Roger Garlick sub-committee: "When selecting the panel we took cognisance of all the disciplines that could add value to judging such highly acclaimed media awards. Although the panel is weighted heavily towards media expertise, it includes a media owner, a marketer, a strategist and a creative representative.

    All media strategies and innovations entered must have been implemented between 1 January 2002 and 31 December 2002. Both the main Roger Garlick Award and the Youth Award will be judged on the same criteria which includes:

  • Communication objectives
  • Originality of the idea;
  • Media solution
  • Relevance to the target market.

    Although not mandatory, post campaign results will assist in motivating entries.

    Full details of entry requirements are available on the AMASA website at Entries close at 17h00 on Friday 21 February 2003.

  • Let's do Biz