Media News South Africa

Toby David Shapshak is 2002's top ICT journalist

Toby David Shapshak, technology editor of the Mail & Guardian and contributing editor of GQ magazine, has been nominated the overall winner of the third annual Telkom Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Journalist of the Year Awards.

Shapshak emerged as 2002's ICT Journalist of the Year, and also won the Print: Mainstream and Print: Lifestyle Magazine categories. As overall and two-category winner, Shapshak wins a cash prize of R45 000 and an all-inclusive trip to Telkom's strategic equity partners in Malaysia and the USA.

Out of a field of more than 200 entries, a judging panel of industry professionals and seasoned journalists nominated Shapshak for his ability to report in a engaging, lucid and informative way on a variety of ICT-related topics. This year's judges were: Mondli Makhanya, Nick Worrall, Mabalane Mfundise, Andile Mazwai and Tholoana Qhobela.

Last year's overall winner, Financial Mail associate editor Marina Bidoli, walked off with the first runner-up awards, while Douglas Sias, winner of the Print: Community Newspaper category in 2001, was nominated second runner-up.

Telkom initiated the ICT Journalist of the Year Awards in 2000 to develop and nurture an interest in ICT journalism among South African journalists. The competition is co-managed by the Institute for the Advancement of Journalism.

Speaking at the Awards banquet in Sandton this evening, Telkom Chairman Nomazizi Mtshotshisa, said the Awards honour those journalists who report on the rapidly evolving and often extremely complex world of Information and Communication Technology. "We honour those who have dug up the facts, discovered the truth and reported it in an original, clear and transparent manner. We applaud those who have demonstrated objectivity above reproach and who have shown a depth of understanding that ultimately benefits the reader, listener or viewer."

The other category winners are:

  • Broadcast, Television: Sophia Phirippides & Jonathan Pienaar (M-Net, Carte Blanche)

  • Electronic: Phillip de Wet (ITWeb)

  • Print, Community Newspaper: Douglas Sias (District Mail)

  • Print, Mainstream: Toby David Shapshak (Mail & Guardian)

  • Print, Business Magazine: Marina Bidoli (Financial Mail)

  • Print, Lifestyle Magazine: Toby David Shapshak (GQ)

    The 2002 Awards saw the introduction of a New Journalist category. This category is open to journalists working in any medium, but who have less than one year's experience in ICT industry reporting. The inaugural winner was Patricia McCracken from Bona Magazine.

    In addition, Telkom awarded the two publications associated with the overall winner, Mail & Guardian and GQ magazine, with a brand-new computer and free ADSL access for one year.

  • Let's do Biz