Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

#FMAdFocus2018: All the winners!

The annual Financial Mail AdFocus Awards took place at The Venue in Melrose Arch earlier tonight, where the 2018 winners were announced.
Collective ID, small agency of the year at the FM AdFocus Awards 2018. Image © Lynne Joffe on Twitter.

Media personality and editor of the Financial Mail AdFocus Magazine, Jeremy Maggs, convened the panel of jurors, headed up by Phumi Mashigo in her first year as jury chair.

#FMAdFocus2017: Hello and goodbye

The new AdFocus Awards chairperson for 2018-19 is Phumi Mashigo, MD of Ignitive. She takes over the rein from Craig Page-Lee, founder of d-cifr...

23 Nov 2017

Mashigo is the founding managing director of Ignitive, a pre-eminent stakeholder management and communications company.

Robust judging sessions

Mashigo, together with other industry experts, adjudicated entries against four effectiveness measures: New Business and Growth; Business Retention and Relationships; Training and Industry Recognition; and Empowerment/Social Responsibility.

Panel members applied their scores in secret, with finalist agencies participating in Q&A sessions with the jurors in order to determine the overall category winners. The judging and scoring were audited by Deloitte.

Mashigo said:
In advertising, we are used to competing and have become very good at entering awards or putting our best foot forward for judges. In this exceptionally tight economy the level of creativity displayed by the entrants when displaying their wares made for very robust judging sessions and once again I believe that the winners are a real testament that where creativity leads profits follow.
This year also includes some changes with the addition of a new category, the Financial Mail Creative Challenge. The Creative Challenge is a print-advertising contest that gives art directors and copy-writers an opportunity to deliver high impact, tactical print ads for their clients and a chance to win free placement in the weekly Financial Mail magazine.

AdFocus Awards announces Financial Mail Creative Challenge finalists

The top four finalists of the Financial Mail Creative Challenge - vying to win the inaugural Financial Mail AdFocus Creative Challenge Award - have been announced...

14 Nov 2018

The Shapeshifter Award replaces the New Broom award from previous years.

2018 Winners

  • Lifetime Achiever Award: Prof. Ludi Koekemoer 
  • Shapeshifter Award: Karabo Poppy Moletsane 
  • Industry Leader of the Year: Mariana O’Kelly 
  • Agency of the Year: Ogilvy Johannesburg
  • Small Advertising Agency of the Year: Collective ID 
  • Medium Advertising Agency of the Year: King James Group 
  • Large Advertising Agency of the Year: Ogilvy Johannesburg 
  • Specialist Agency of the Year: Grid Worldwide
  • Partnership of the Year (sponsored by IAS/Scopen): FCB Joburg / Toyota
  • Transformation Award: Collective ID
  • Independent Media Agency of the Year: TMI Media Network 
  • Media Agency of the Year: Vizeum 
  • African Impact Award: Dentsu Aegis Network 
  • Student of the Year: Felicity Davies
  • Financial Mail Creative Challenge: M&C Saatchi Abel

The Financial Mail AdFocus Magazine is SA’s largest brand communication review and will be distributed with the Financial Mail on 29 November 2018.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.