Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

2021 Eco-Logic Awards winners announced

The 10th annual Eco-Logic Awards hosted by The Enviropaedia, which took place virtually on 3 November, has announced its 2021 winners.
Source: Supplied
Source: Supplied

Strategically aligning with the COP 26 summit this year, the awards aimed to not only highlight the urgency of action required to combat climate change but to challenge leaders to do more.

According to the Eco-Logic Awards founder and director, David Parry-Davies, the conservation of our planet relies on meaningful behavioural change. "We can’t just wait for things to change, moreover we can’t ‘keep doing the same thing and expect different results. This is what makes the work of all our eco-logic awards participants so important. They play a critical role in making a tangible difference in our day-to-day lives."

Covering a wide variety of categories such as water conservation, recycling, health and wellness, fashion and lifestyle, the eco-logic awards recognise businesses, communities, and individuals committed to making a difference.

From an innovative eco-toothpaste that has to date prevented more than 45,000 toothpaste tubes from ending up in a South African landfill, to educational programmes that teach communities how to grow their own food, there was no shortage of inspirational change-makers at this year’s event.

The winners in each of the 11 categories were celebrated with messages of support by well-known celebrities, government and industry thought leaders including director-general of the department of environment, forestry and fisheries, Nomfundo Tshabalala, actress, and poet, Siphokazi Jonas, musicians Jeremy Loops, and Zolani Mahola, food and fashion guru Kamini Pather and comedian Nic Rabinowitz.

The event ended off with a glamorously green dress-up competition that saw Eco-Logic Awards finalists and members of the public don their most creative eco-outfits.

The full list of winners include:

The climate change award

Supported by DFFE (Department of Forestry, Fisheries, and the Environment)

● Groenheuwel Eosta Citrus (Gold)
● Elana Greyling - EarthLife Africa (Silver)
● African Climate Alliance (Bronza)

The nature conservation award

Sponsored by Ford Wildlife Foundation

● Elephants Alive (Gold)
● CTEET - River Ambassadors (Silver)
● Cape Leopard Trust - Snare Aware (Bronze)

The eco-innovation award

Sponsored by Interwaste

● Envirocrete Bioclimatic Houses & Building Components (Gold)
● The Greenpop Foundation & Urban Harvest: Family Food Gardens (Silver)
● Global Green Tag Africa (Bronze)

The recycling and circular economy award

Supported by The NCPC

● Packa-Ching (Gold)
● Envirocrete Bioclimatic Houses & Building Components (Silver)
● Anglo American Platinum Zero Waste to Landfill project (Bronze)

The water conservation award

Supported by Rand Water

● Greater Cape Town Water Fund (Gold)
● Friends of the Liesbeek (Silver)
● Hennops Revival (Bronze)

The eco-fashion and lifestyle award

Sponsored by Polo

● Chic Mamas Do Care (Gold)
● Levi’s (Silver)
● The Joinery (Bronze)

The eco-health and wellness award

Sponsored by Dis-Chem

● Earthly (Gold)
● Patch Bamboo Bandages (Silver)
● Crafted Cosmetics (Bronze)

The eco-community award

Sponsored by Pick n Pay

● Grootbos Foundation (Gold)
● Seed (Silver)
● Kabega Primary School (Bronza)

The eco angel award

Sponsored by Pick n Pay

● Tarryn Johnston - Hennops Revival (Gold)
● Michelle Henley - Elephant Alive (Silver)
● Sarah Robyn Farell – TransparenCi (Bronze)

The eco-warrior award

Sponsored by Santam

● Liziwe McDaid - Green Connections (Gold)
● The Juliet Crew (Silver)
● Elana Greyling - EarthLife Africa (Bronze)

The eco-leadership award

Sponsored by Absa

● Cormac Cullinan (GO)
● Matthew Cocks – WESSA (SILVER)
● Lisa Reynolds – GBCSA (BRONZE)

Let's do Biz