Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

South African to head IPRA in 2012

The International Public Relations Association (IPRA) has announced that its new president for 2012 is Johanna McDowell of South Africa. The international public relations association has further emphasised its global footprint with the election, by all its individual members, of its new governing body.
Governing body
Johanna McDowell
  • Africa: Mike Okereke (Nigeria) and Loula Zaklama
  • Asia & Oceania: Ajit Pathak (India)
  • South America : Amybel Sanchez de Walther (Peru);
  • West Asia: Zehra Gungor (Turkey) and Sunil John
  • Europe, which has the largest IPRA membership, Alexandre Cordeiro (Portugal), Bart de Vries (Netherlands), Christophe Ginisty (France), Philip Sheppard (Belgium) and Jim McQueeny (USA)
  • Richard Linning (UK) President 2011
  • Elizabeth Ananto (Indonesia) President 2010
  • Johanna McDowell (South Africa) President 2012
  • Nigel Chism (UK) Treasurer
  • Jim Holt, CEO
The regions are those recognized by the United Nations. The one remaining position, in Asia and Oceania, will be filled as soon as possible.

"As well as guaranteeing representation on its governing body for all geographic regions, the association encourages its members who live and work in close geographic proximity, share a common language, cultural values and social practices to form local chapters to share knowledge, experiences and best practices," said the current IPRA president Richard Linning. "This gives every association member a voice at the national, regional and global activities of the association."

The new governing body officially took office on 1 July 2011.



Let's do Biz