Search for:

Cannes Lions Special Section

[Cannes Lions 2011] Four Film Lions for South Africa

CANNES, FRANCE: South Africa converted four of its five shortlisted entries into Film Lions on Saturday night, 25 June 2011, at the final Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity awards ceremony for Film, Film Craft, Creative Effectiveness and Titanium and Integrated Lions. SA also took Silver in the Young Lions Film Competition. [video]
[Cannes Lions 2011] Four Film Lions for South Africa

South African Film Lions winners 2011

LionCategoryTitleAdvertiser/clientProduct/serviceAd agencyProduction company
Silver LionA26 Public Health & SafetyLove to meet youBrandhouseBrandhouse Drive Dry InitiativeFoxP2*Giant Films CT
Silver LionA28 Fundraising & AppealsWaking up the NeighbourhoodPOWAFemale Abuse PreventionOgilvy JhbFrieze Films Jhb
Bronze LionsA28 Fundraising & AppealsJumbledThe Avril Elizabeth HomeThe Avril Elizabeth HomeJWT Jhb*Bouffant Jhb
Bronze LionA16 Retail StoresChain MailExclusive BooksEmail for DummiesOgilvy Jhb*Jump CT

* denotes Entrant Company

Young Lions Film Competition

In the Young Lions Film Competition, the US Hispanic team won the Gold medal, South Africa's David Emerson and Tamar Retter, both of M-Net took Silver and USA Bronze. As part of the award, winners receive a limited edition, framed Getty Images print and a complimentary registration to the 2012 Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity.

The competition asked the 38 international teams to create a film, no longer than 60 seconds, using a Nokia N8 mobile phone. The brief was given by Global Angels, a charitable foundation which aims to inspire millions of people to become 'Angels'; putting their compassion into action by raising funds to support established projects that make a significant impact in the lives of disadvantaged children, young people and communities around the world.

The Young Lions Film Competition is supported by OminicomMediaGroup, Getty Images, HP, Adobe, Wacom, USA Today, shots and Nokia.

Grands Prix

Of the 3310 entries in the Film category, the jury, chaired by Y&R global chief creative officer Tony Granger, shortlisted 299 entries, of which 14 were awarded Gold, 30 Silver and 57 Bronze Lions. The Film Grand Prix was awarded to Wieden+Kennedy Amsterdam, The Netherlands for Nike's 'Write the Future'.

In its second year, the Film Craft Lions category received 1322 entries. South African jury president Keith Rose, director of Velocity Films, along with his jury, shortlisted 116 entries and awarded 12 Gold, 17 Silver and 24 Bronze Lions. Droga5 New York, US was presented with the Film Craft Grand Prix for its entry for Puma 'After Hours Athlete'.

DDB Worldwide chairman Bob Scarpelli presided over the Titanium and Integrated jury, which voted on 480 entries to reach a shortlist of 32, of which three Gold, six Silver and three Bronze Integrated Lions were awarded and three Titanium Lions given. The Integrated Grand Prix went to Droga5 New York, US, for its entry 'Decode Jay-Z with Bing' for Bing/Jay-Z. The jury decided not to award a Titanium Grand Prix.

Grand Prix for Good

The Titanium and Integrated jury was also responsible for awarding the Grand Prix for Good. From a list of 31 contenders, the award was presented to Leo Burnett Melbourne, Australia, for its Film entry 'See the Person' for Scope.

The inaugural Creative Effectiveness Lions were presented by jury president Jean-Marie Dru, TBWA\Worldwide chairman. One hundred and forty two entries were received into this category, of which 10 were shortlisted and six Creative Effectiveness Lions awarded. The inaugural Grand Prix went to Abbott Mead Vickers BBDO London, UK for its PepsiCo ad 'Sandwich'.


CategoryTotal entries shortlistedTotal SA shortlistedPercentage of SA finalists2010 comparisonTotal winnersTotal SA winnersSA percentage of winners2010 winners comparison
Direct20462.94%Same - 6 SA finalists in 20105711.75%Decline - 3 SA winners in 2010
Promo & Activations17510.57%Decline - 2 SA finalists in 20105511.18%Increase - 0 SA winners in 2010
PR10510.95%Same - 1 SA finalist in 201039000 SA winners in 2010
Outdoor42671.64%Decline - 22 SA finalists in 201011910.84%Decrease - 5 winners in 2010
Media22262.70%Increase - 3 SA finalists in 20108422.38%Increase - 0 winners in 2010
Radio1383827.53%Increase - 17 SA finalists in 2010501020%Increase - 6 winners in 2010, 1 being a Grand Prix
Press51891.74%Increase - 4 SA finalists in 20109933.03%Increase - 2 winners in 2010
Cyber22010.45%Increase - 0 SA shortlisted in 2010 8100No change from 2010
Design14610.68%Decline - 3 SA finalists in 2010 8600Decline - 3 SA winners in 2010
Film29951.67%Decline - 14 shortlisted in 2010 10243.92%Increase - 3 winners in 2010 (1 Gold, 2 Bronze)
Titanium & Integrated3213.12%Increase - 0 shortlisted in 2010 1600No change from 2010
Film Craft11621.72%Decline - 4 shortlisted in 2010 5400No change from 2010
Creative Effectiveness1000.00%New category in 2011600New category in 2011
Total so far2611782.99%848222.59%

During the ceremony, Sir John Hegarty was honoured and presented with the inaugural Lion of St Mark trophy, awarded in celebration and honour of an individual's long and outstanding contribution to creativity in communications.

Other awards presented at this evening's awards ceremony were:

  • Advertising Agency of the Year was given to AlmapBBDO Sao Paulo, Brazil, with Wieden+Kennedy Portland, US, in second and BBDO New York, US, in third.
  • Independent Agency of the Year went to Wieden+Kennedy Portland, US. Runners-up were Droga5 New York in second place and Jung von Matt Hamburg in third.
  • The Palme d'Or, given to the most-awarded production company, was presented to Smuggler US.
  • Network of the Year was presented to BBDO. Second place went to Ogilvy & Mather and third to DDB.
  • Awarded for the first time was the Holding Company of the Year, which went to WPP with 1219 points. Omnicom was second, with 1152 points, and Publicis Groupe third with 744 points.
  • The Young Marketers Competition saw the dedicated jury award The Philippines with the Gold medal, Belarus with Silver and Brazil with Bronze.
  • The Advertiser of the Year trophy was presented to IKEA in honour of its continued commitment to encouraging creative, unconventional and humorous advertising. Noel Wijsmans, global retail manager and VP of IKEA Group, accepted the award.

Full sets of winners:

Updated at 12.18pm on 27 June 2011.

Let's do Biz