Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

CTIFM&F winners announced

The winners of the 2017 Cape Town International Film Market and Festival (CTIFM&F) were announced at a red carpet event, held at the Westin Hotel in Cape Town. The event was hosted by Pearl Thusi and Maps Maponyane.
Young local filmmakers, local, and international experts, professionals, and guest speakers participated in the 10-day festival. Jury members from across the globe viewed all the films in competition.

This year, the festival selected eight projects from numerous entries; each of which had to be submitted with a comprehensive proposal. The entrants participated in workshops and pitch mentoring with the Writers’ Guild of South Africa in preparation.

This year’s prize is worth $20,000 and is sponsored by the Moving Billboard Company. The prize was awarded to Nathan Theys for the project Ronald. Brett Michael Innes for Callus received the runner-up prize, which is worth $10,000.

There are two films that the juries acknowledged for honourable mentions: Jaap by Ian Morgan and Post by Jesse Brown.

The 2017 CTIFM&F winners are:

Best short film - Intergalactic Samurai by Hagar Ben-Asher 

Best actor - Pankaj Tripathi as Salim in Mango Dreams

Best actress - Antoinette Louw as Molly Fischer in An Act of Defiance

Best script - Jean van der Velde for An Act of Defiance

Best editing - Mustafa Presheva for Ayla: The Daughter of War

Best cinematography - Massimo Moschin for The Last Prosecco

Best documentary film - Hana by Giuseppe Carrieri

Best LGBT film (special mention award) - KA Bodyscapes by Jayan K. Cherian

Best South African feature film - Catching Feelings by Kagiso Lediga

Best new director - Manouj Kadaamh for Horizon

Best directorVisa Koiso-Kantilla for Star Boys

Grand Prix Award - Kivanç Sezer for My Father’s Wings

View gallery
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.