Business services
Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Dr John Kani, Siya Kolisi amongst the winners of the inaugural GQ SA Men of the Year Awards

GQ South Africa recently held its inaugural Men of the Year Awards at the Houghton Hotel in Johannesburg.
Hosted by E! Entertainment presenter Kat Sinivasan, the night was a celebration of the people who make South Africa great, with an eclectic mix of icons, superstars, tastemakers and more. The awards show was punctuated by a delectable three-course dinner created in collaboration with Hennessy VSOP Privilège and entertainment from Ngizwe, Berita, Bo’Denim, and Sammy T.

“As one of 20 worldwide editions of GQ, we’re privileged to be able to showcase all of the best that South Africa has to offer – and to share this across a global network. This year is also a special one for GQ South Africa, as our December issue marks our 20 years since our launch edition in December 1999 – and our inaugural Men of the Year Event is the perfect moment to celebrate,” says GQ SA editor-in-chief Nkosiyati Khumalo.

“South Africans habitually dominate every field they touch. With that in mind, we thought the time was right to create a new celebration, right here at home, to honour the achievements of the men and women who define our culture today – and who propel us forward.” 

The GQ SA Men of the Year winners are… 

  • Athlete of the Year: professional footballer Thembinkosi Lorch
  • Icon of the Year: Springbok captain Siya Kolisi
  • Musician of the Year: rapper Nasty C
  • Humanitarian of the Year: Craig Wilkinson, founder, Father a Nation
  • Editor’s Special Award Winner: Professor Mashudu Tshifularo, pioneer of an innovative surgery which used 3D printing to cure deafness
  • Breakout Star of the Year: fashion designer and 2019 LVMH prize winner Thebe Magugu
  • Business leader of the Year: Vusi Thembekwayo
  • Designer of the Year: Tristan Du Plessis
  • Influencer of the Year: Brent Lindeque founder of Good Things Guy
  • Woman of the Year: artist Lady Skollie

A highlight of the entire evening, the most special award was presented to a South African creative legend. The Hennessy VSOP Privilège Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to actor, playwright, director, and producer Dr John Kani.  

Pascal Asin, John Kani, Nkosiyati Khumalo

The awards are brought to life in print through a special collector’s edition of the December 2019 issue of GQ – which features photoshoots and interviews with all category winners. These are also available on and GQ’s social media platforms.
Sarah Reyes
nasty c ??
Posted on 5 Dec 2019 21:36



Let's do Biz