Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Winners announced for 2016 Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards

The winners of the Publishers Support Services' (PSS), (previously Print and Digital Media South Africa (PDMSA), Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards have been announced.
The Awards took place at The Venue, Green Park (also known as Johannesburg World Trade Centre), in Sandton, with MC Azania Mosaka. In attendance were the top talent of the newspaper journalism industry. The winners were selected from 63 finalists in 17 categories. In total the Awards attracted 484 entries.


CATEGORY 1: HARD NEWS WinnerBeauregard Tromp“The killing of Emmanuel SitholeSunday Times
CATEGORY 2: COLUMNS / EDITORIAL WinnerVerashni PillayA series of Columns – “Body of Work”Mail & Guardian
CATEGORY 3: ENTERPRISE NEWS WinnerBongekile Macupe and Zoe Mahopo“Big stink”Sowetan
CATEGORY 4: FEATURE WRITING WinnerMia Malan“Diepsloot: Where men think it’s their right to rape”Mail & Guardian (Bhekisisa)
CATEGORY 5: INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM WinnerSiphe Macanda“Siyenza toilet scandal”Daily Dispatch
CATEGORY 6: EDITORIAL CARTOONS WinnerDr Jack Swanepoel and John Curtis“Murich 1935-2015”Eye Witness News (EWN)
CATEGORY 7: GRAPHIC JOURNALISM WinnerRudi Louw“In search of a better life”Graphics 24: City Press
CATEGORY 8: POPULAR JOURNALISM WinnerEverson Luhanga“Oscar scores in jail”Daily Sun
CATEGORY 9: NEWS PHOTOGRAPHS WinnerJames Oatway“The killing of Emmanuel Sithole”Sunday Times
CATEGORY 10: FEATURE PHOTOGRAPHS WinnerConrad Bornman“In the shadow of the valleys”Volksblad
CATEGORY 11: SPORTS PHOTOGRAPHS WinnerAlon Skuy“Lesotho –Ski escape”The Times
CATEGORY 12: PRESENTATION Winner Nelandri Narianan“Face of our past”The Star
CATEGORY 13: MULTIPLATFORM WinnerElsabe Brits and team: (Debree Kluge and Gys Visser)“HOMO Naledi -Pakket”Netwerk24
CATEGORY 14: MULTIMEDIA WinnerJessica Mulder and Team: (Stephens Simon, Lebohang Mashiloane, Neil Raath, Andy van Eeden, Andrew Fehrsen and Anastasya Eliseeva)“Hope to Glory”eNCA.com
CATEGORY 15: SA STORY OF THE YEAR WinnerBeauregard Tromp & James Oatway“The killing of Emmanuel Sithole”Sunday Times
CATEGORY 16: YOUNG JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR WinnerNokuthula Mbatha“Deep in the devil’s drug”The Star
CATEGORY 17: NEWSPAPER JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR WinnerSiphe Macanda“Siyenza toilet scandal”Daily Dispatch

*Please note that this year no award was given in Category 18: Allan Kirkland SOGA Lifetime Achiever Award.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.