Marketing & Media trends

More Articles



Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Inaugural SAFTA nominees announced

The first-ever South African Film and Television Awards are nearly upon us, with 28 October 2006 around the corner, and the SAFTA executive committee recently announced the official nominees for the inaugural Golden Horn 2006 Awards. The primary objective of SAFTA Awards is to honour, celebrate, promote talent and accomplishments of the South African film and television industry.
The five nominees vying for the Best feature film award are Tsotsi, Dollars and White Pipes, Gums and Noses, Red Dust, and Zulu love letter. Best actress in a feature film nominees are Leleti Khumalo as Faith in Faith's Corner, Quinita Adams as Sannie Grootboom in Forgiveness, Pauline Malefane as Carmen in U Carmen eKhayelithsa and Pamela Nomvete as Thandeka in Zulu love letter.

The nominees for the best actress in a TV soap are Grace Mahlaba as Ipeleng in Backstage, Ashley Cole as Lee Haines and Michelle Botes as Cherel de Villiers in Isidingo, and Shoki Mmola as Tumi in Muvhango.

Win tickets

The nominees for the Best TV Soap award are Isidingo, Backstage, Generations, Sevende Laan and Muvhango. But as to which soap will walk away with this award is dependent on you. SMS the title of your favourite soap to 34762 and stand a chance to win tickets to the SAFTA awards ceremony.

In the best, TV Drama category the nominees are Zero Tolerance, Hard Copy and Tsha Tsha.

"We are delighted to be partners with the SABC, the City of Joburg and the industry at large in celebrating our creativity and encouraging excellence. This is indeed one of those historical moments we will all cherish. As we this year celebrate 110 years of cinema and 30 years of TV broadcasting in our country, we have to also continue asking the big questions and searching for answers to the challenges facing our local industry, specifically audience, market and skills development," says SAFTA executive committee chair and NFVF CEO, Eddie Mbalo.

Industry initiative

The Awards are part of an industry initiative to establish the South African Film and Television Academy (SAFTA), which will function as the governing structure and serve as the custodian of the South African Film and Television Awards, the SAFTA Awards or the SAFTAS.

Judging panels consisting of industry professionals, journalists, and academics spent four weekends viewing and adjudicating over 400 entries, ranging from the country's best feature films, short films, documentaries, television dramas, sitcoms and Soapies, magazine, news and actuality, wildlife, children, variety and reality programmes.

All programs judged in the above categories had to have been produced and completed or originally aired or publicly exhibited for the first time between 1 February 2003 and 30 September 2005. The results have been audited by SAFTA 2006 auditors Sizwe Ntsaluba VSP.

Main awards ceremony

The winners will be presented with the Golden Horn, the official SAFTA Trophy, on Friday 27 and Saturday 28 October 2006 at Gallagher Estate in Johannesburg. The main awards ceremony on Saturday 28 will be televised live on SABC 2 from 7.30pm to 11pm, with live crossings from the Red Carpet from 4pm.

Guests at the red carpet gala ceremonies will include the cream of South African talent, including all the nominees, leading personalities in the local film, television and music industry, key government and private sector VIP'S and media representatives. Limited tickets for the 28 October awards ceremony are now available at Computicket and Shoprite stores nationwide.

The SAFTA executive committee is comprised of NFVF CEO, Eddie Mbalo , Kamscilla Naidoo and John Cronwright (SABC), Bongiwe Selane (M-Net), Malebo Phage (e.tv), Ferdi Gazendam (Ster-Kinekor), Debbie McCrum (Nu Metro), Raymond Theart (PMA), Joel Phiri and Desiree Markgraaff (IPO), Jackie Motsepe (NFVF) and SAFTA executive producer Lebone Maema.

For a full list of all nominees, go to the NFVF website at www.nfvf.co.za.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.