Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Past and present Young Artists for Jazz to participate in 2019 Standard Bank All-Star Jazz Band

The 2019 Young Artist All-Star Jazz Band will be one of the performers opening the 2019 edition of Standard Bank Joy of Jazz.
At least 13 of the 21 musicians, who have been awarded the Standard Bank Young Artist (SBYA) Award for Jazz over its 35-year history, will perform together on the Dinaledi Stage on Thursday, 26 September in four ensembles.

Ranging from Sibongile Khumalo, who scooped the first award in 1993, to this year’s recipient, Mandla Mlangeni, this celebration and opening performance will be one not to miss.

Back to the future

It will be one of those rare sights in the annals of South African Jazz when illustrious names such as Gloria Bosman, Shane Cooper, Victor Masondo, Shannon Mowday and Concord Nkabinde share the stage and, once again, reveal their impressive musical armoury, though, this time, in concert rather than leading their own bands.

The four ensembles will each play a set as part of the opening night of the Standard Bank Joy of Jazz Festival. Veteran Sibongile Khumalo, a master of her musical art form and an internationally-cherished vocal stylist, was the first recipient of this award and she will join forces with the dynamic Gloria Bosman, Melanie Scholtz, pianist Bokani Dyer and Shannon Mowday, who is visiting from Norway, where she now resides.

2019 Joy of Jazz lineup unveiled

The lineup for the 22nd edition of the Standard Bank Joy of Jazz (SBJOJ) has been released. The jazz festival will be held at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg from 26 to 28 September 2019...

20 May 2019

“It feels like such a full-circle moment for me to be part of the Standard Bank Joy of Jazz festival again this year and to be, moreover, collaborating with various artists from all over the world, including this year’s music recipient of the SBYA, Mandla Mlangeni,” says Khumalo.  

The second group will feature the effervescent Mark Fransman on sax, Nduduzo Makhathini on piano, Shane Cooper on bass and Kesivan Naidoo on drums. Shannon Mowday returns as a member of the third ensemble with Mark Fransman this time on piano, Concord Nkabinde on bass and Kesivan Naidoo on drums. Gloria Bosman takes centre stage in the fourth ensemble and will be backed by Mandla Mlangeni on trumpet, Afrika Mkhize on piano, Victor Masondo on bass and Kesivan Naidoo on drums.

Five stages will be used for the Standard Bank Joy of Jazz Festival, where jazz-lovers will be treated to a diverse range of musical genres from the 26 to 28 September.

Check out the website for more info: Tickets may also be obtained from Computicket and Shoprite/Checkers.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.