Marketing & Media trends

More Articles



Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Call to enter Vodacom Journalist of the Year 2009

The deadline for the 2009 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards, which recognise excellence in South African journalism, is 28 May 2009.
The 2009 Vodacom Journalist of the Year winner will receive R125 000 in cash as well as the opportunity to donate R125 000 to an official charity of his or her choosing.

In addition to the big prize each national winner receives R15 000, while every regional category winner will receive R7500.

Editors throughout South Africa are again encouraged to identify their most promising young journalists who have been in the business for a minimum of two and a maximum of five years and enter them for the Editor's Choice Award. The winner will receive a grant enabling him or her to study internationally.

The awards comprise 14 categories from which entrants can choose. All entries must have been published or broadcast between 1 May 2008 and 30 April 2009. The competition closes on 28 May and begins with the regional awards, which will be held around the country in September and these winners in the various categories will automatically compete at the National Awards ceremony which will take place in Johannesburg in October.

A Lifetime Achievement Award is also awarded to a journalist who has made a meaningful contribution to the media profession.

Vodacom sponsors the awards in association with 1Time, Southern Sun, the Sandton Sun Hotel, Nokia, Media Express and the JSE.

Journalists wishing to enter can find all relevant information and entry forms on www.vodacom.co.za/sponsorships/journalist_of_the_year/.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.