Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Regional Vodacom Journalist of the Year winners so far

So far, three of the five award ceremonies for the regional Vodacom Journalist of the Year 2008 Awards have been held so far - Central, Western and Eastern - and the remaining two are tonight, Friday, 10 October 2008 (KwaZulu-Natal) and Monday 13 October (Northern/Southern). The national finals will be held on Friday 7 November at the Sandton Sun, Johannesburg.
The Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards is regarded as one of South Africa's premier journalism honours, with more than R1 million in prize money, making it one of the richest accolades in SA journalism. The central regional winners were announced at a function in Bloemfontein on Friday 3 October, western regional winners in Cape Town on Monday 6 October, and eastern regional winners in Port Elizabeth on 7 October. These regional winners, who each received R7500, will now compete in the national finals.

CategoryCentral regional winnersWestern regional winnersEastern regional winners
Print featureAnton Smith of Passi magazinePaul McNally, Men's Health and Willemien Brummer, Die BurgerBrett Horner, Chandre Prince, Ntando Makhubu from the Daily Dispatch
Print newsHenry Cloete of VolksbladJohn Yeld, the Cape ArgusBrian Hayward, Weekend Post
CartoonistGavin Petersen of VolksbladJonathan Shapiro (Zapiro), Independent NewspapersMark Wiggett, The Herald
ColumnistChristo van Staden of VolksbladLauren Beukes, The Big Issue and Marlene Malan, RapportSam Mkokeli, Weekend Post
Financial EconomicVida Booysen of Sake 24Ingi Salgado, Business ReportSiya Miti, Daily Dispatch
SportCindè Greyling, Passi magazineYusuf Jackson, Daily VoiceLuxolo Mantambo, Daily Dispatch
Radio NewsSolly Mphatso, SAFMLiesl Smit, 94.5 KFMVeronica Fourie, RSG
Radio FeatureOwen Kock, OFMMercedes Besent, SAFM AM LiveZimkhita Macingwane, SABC News
TV NewsCharlene and Eddie Stanley, e News Prime TimeLester Kiewit, e News Prime TimeJanine Lee, SABC News
TV FeatureCharlene and Eddie Stanley, 3rd DegreeBarbara Friedman, 3rd DegreeJessica Pitchford, Special Assignment
PhotographyEmile Hendricks of VolksbladSimone Scholtz, De KatEugene Coetzee, The Herald
OnlineNo entriesOlivia Rose-Innes, Health 24Andrew Trench, Dispatch Online
Community MediaNo winnerShafiq Morton, Muslim ViewsBev Mortimer, St Francis Chronicle
Editor's ChoiceNo entriesLauren Kansley, Daily VoiceBrian Hayward, Weekend Post

This is the seventh year that network provider Vodacom has rewarded excellence in journalism in recognition of the very real impact journalism has on society. The 2008 Vodacom Journalist of the Year winner will win R125 000 in cash, as well as being given the opportunity to plough back into the community and donate R125 000 to an official charity of his or her choosing. National winners receive R15 000 and a BlackBerry smartphone.

Regional and national judges include Dr Melanie Chait, Johann de Wet, Sandra Gordon, Victor Matom, Rich Mkhondo, Phil Molefe, ZB Molefe, Maud Motanyane, Collin Nxumalo, Sefako Andrew Nyaka, Mary Papayya, Lizette Rabe and Robin Sewlal.

For more information, go to
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.