The Narrow

Click here to enter


Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

2019 Savanna Comics' Choice Awards nominees announced

The nominees of the 2019 Savanna Comics' Choice Awards have been announced. The migration of mobile voting to online voting saw the Audience Choice Award receive over 100,000 votes for 287 comedians from 70 countries.
This year’s recipient of the Lifetime Achiever Award is Soli Philander. A well-respected member of the comedy fraternity, the Cape Town native is an actor, director, comedian, playwright, columnist, pioneer and legend. The 2019 nominee list features the best comedic talent across the continent.

Comedy G Award

Chris Forrest (JHB)
Loyiso Gola (JHB)
Barry Hilton (CPT)
Conrad Koch (CPT)
Celeste Ntuli (JHB)

Savanna Newcomer Of The Year

Reagen Allen (CPT)
Cyril Basker (DBN)
Waylene Beukes (JHB)
Emilio Tobias (JHB)
Chomi Ya Jeso (JHB)

Next Level Award

Tsitsi Chiumya (JHB)
Bongani Dube (JHB)
Lindy Johnson (CPT)
Nonto R (KZN)

The Native Tongue Award

Chomi Ya Jeso (JHB)
Mashabela Galane (JHB)
Celeste Ntuli (JHB)
Siyabulela Seya (JHB)
Simphiwe Shembe (KZN)

The Flying Solo Award

Loyiso Gola (JHB)
Skhumba Hlophe (JHB)
Conrad Koch/Chester Missing (CPT)
Mpho Popps Modikoane (JHB)
Celeste Ntuli (JHB)

The Comics’ Pen Award

Lazola Gola (JHB)
Kagiso Lediga (JHB)
Milo (Camilo Saloojee) (JHB)
Rea Moeti (JHB)
Mpho Osei-Tutu (JHB)
Almost News with Chester Missing (JHB)

The Best Friend Of Comedy Award

Goliath & Goliath (JHB)
David Kau (JHB)
Parkers Comedy Club/Joe Parker (JHB)
Simphiwe Shembe (KZN)
#ER Comedy What What ((JHB)

The Headliner Of The Year Award

Robby Collins (JHB)
Skhumba Hlophe (JHB)
Mpho “Popps” Modikoane (JHB)
Siyabulela Seya (JHB
Carl Weber (CPT)

The Savanna Comic Of The Year Award

Robby Collins (JHB)
Loyiso Gola (JHB)
Skhumba Hlophe (JHB)
Mpho “Popps” Modikoane (JHB)
Celeste Ntuli (JHB) 

The Savanna Pan-African Comic Of The Year

Kansiime Anne (Uganda)
Basketmouth (Nigeria)
Chingliz (Zambia)
Long John the Comedian (Zimbabwe)
Alfred Kainga (Zimbabwe)

The Audience Choice Award

Blaque Gzus (North West)
Chantal Jax (CPT)
Thato Malebati (Limpopo)
Pele-Pele (JHB)
Kwanda Radebe (KZN)

The winners of the 2019 Savanna CCAs will be awarded at The Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City in Johannesburg on 7 September 2019. Voting is now open via Tickets are available via Computicket
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.