Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

African media awards extend categories

The 2010 Diageo Africa Business Reporting Awards have added sector-specific categories to reflect the important role that various industries play in economic development. Entries are free and can be on any platform - online, print, broadcast. The closing date for entries is 26 March 2010, with the awards ceremony being held on 1 July 2010 in Central London.

Award categories

  • Best ICT feature
  • Best Finance feature
  • Best Infrastructure feature
  • Best Agribusiness / Environment feature
  • Best Tourism feature
  • Best use of new media in a story
  • Best Business news story
  • Best Business Feature story
  • Best Newcomer
  • Media of the Year
  • Journalist of the Year.
Initiated by Diageo in 2004, the awards encourage more prolific business journalism within Africa in a drive to increase the continent's share of voice in the international media.

Nick Blazquez, Africa MD, Diageo, comments, “The world has been impacted by the global recession and so has Africa. However, the dynamism of doing business across Africa and the opportunities available to investors, continue. We recognise that the media has a key role across the world in shaping business sentiment and Diageo will continue to support initiatives that encourage balanced reporting on Africa's business environment.

“Looking ahead, 2010 is a very important year for African business. As 16 African countries celebrate their 50th Year of Independence and South Africa hosts the 2010 World Cup, there is a greater sense of optimism and excitement than there was last year,” adds Blazquez.

Submit entries online at
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.