Prism Awards Special Section

PRISM Awards announces judging panel

The 2014 PRISM Awards have announced the names of the 40 communication specialists who will adjudicate the 174 entries. The results will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday 6 April at The Maslow Hotel in Sandton.
PRISM Awards announces judging panel
"Our panel comprises a diverse mix of experts and industry leaders from across the communication spectrum, including academia, corporates, consultancies and the media," says chief PRISM judge Marilyn Watson.


    • Alistair Mokoena - MD: DraftFCB
    • Amanda Hamilton-Attwell - Business DNA
    • Anton van Rensburg - senior account manager: OnChannel
    • Bridget von Holdt - director: Glasshouse Communication Management
    • Candy Guvi - investment collateral writer: Absa Wealth and Investment Management
    • Catherine Constantinides - executive director: Lead SA
    • Charlene Lamb - country communications manager: Lafarge
    • Cherylann Smith - director: WeCollaborate
    • Corné Meintjes - lecturer: Durban University of Technology's department of marketing and retail management
    • Cynthia Mabela - communication manager: Tongaat
    • Daniel Munslow - director: Talk2Us
    • Dave Macleod - owner: Game Plan Media
    • Dot Field - owner: Dot Field Communications
    • Heather Robinson - director and owner: THJ Consulting
    • Ingrid Lotze - director: Puruma
    • Joanna Oosthuizen - MD: Ogilvy Public Relations
    • Johanna McDowell - owner: Independent Agency Selection
    • Kevin Welman - MD and partner: Fleishman-Hillard
    • Leigh Gunkel-Keuler - public affairs, policy & communications director - Pfizer SA's Biopharmaceutical Division, South Africa
    • Lucy Balona - executive manager: marketing and communication: Cancer Association of South Africa - Head Office
    • Lucy Pedlar - internal communication manager: Woolworths
    • Marilyn Watson - partner: Cinnamon Communication
    • Natalie Pringle - life coach
    • Nicola Chaning-Pearce - director: Tynago Communications
    • Patrick Singh - head: alternate distribution & digital: Old Mutual
    • Peter van der Schyff - owner: Pringle-Scott Communications
    • Rene Vosloo - head of corporate marketing and Reputation Management: Discovery Health
    • Ruben Platt - corporate affairs manager: Sasol
    • Saul Kropman - director: GS Industries
    • Shenanda Janse van Rensburg - group executive: marketing, communications and Public Relations: Altech
    • Tasneem Carrim - chief director: policy & research: Government Communication and Information System
    • Vicki St Quintin - group corporate affairs and investor relations manager: Adcock Ingram Healthcare
    • Wadim Schreiner - director: Social Licence

New Campaign of the Year judges

  • Ashraf Garda - media host and radio & TV presenter
  • Jeremy Maggs - TV news anchor and publisher
  • Palesa Madumo - communication manager: Business Connexion
  • Sylvester Chauke - chief architect: DNA Brand Architects
  • Wendy Tlou - director: strategic marketing and communication: Brand South Africa
This year's entries have been divided into eight clusters. "Judges look at five key areas: research, objectives, planning, execution and measurement," explains Watson. "But over and above this, the panel are looking for the 'wow factor' - that extra bit of magic that sets an entry apart from the rest."
Don't miss BizTrends2022 - 7 keynote speakers forecast trends shaping business in our region! Register now!

Let's do Biz