Park Acoustics

Click here to enter
Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

China's Silent Winter and SA's Five Fingers for Marseilles lead 2019 RapidLion Awards nominations

The RapidLion Awards are set to make a return at this year's instalment of the RapidLion South African International Film Festival, which runs at the Market Theatre in Johannesburg from 1 March-10 March 2019.
Several standouts have emerged with films such as Five Fingers for Marseilles (SA), Sew The Winter to My Skin (SA), Silent Winter China), Catching Feelings (SA), Legalize It – Friendship Never Dies (Brazil) and Shocking KungFu of Huo’s (China) boasting nominations in several categories. Leading the charge with eight nominations each are Chinese production, Silent Winter, written and directed by Da Fei, and South African film, Five Fingers for Marseilles, directed by Michael Matthews and written by Sean Drummond. Not to be counted out, though, is the epic Sew the Winter to My Skin, written and directed by South African filmmaker Jahmil XT Qubeka, which has been nominated in seven categories.   

Although currently enjoying the creative and popular success of coming-of-age adventure Matwetwe, this edition of RapidLion sees filmmaker and comedian Kagiso Lediga nominated for Best Screenplay for Catching Feelings, his seminal romantic comedy that has been popularly received on Netflix, launching his international career as director and producer. The film, which he also directed, has been nominated in three categories, including Best of South Africa and Best Actor in a Supporting Role for Andrew Buckland.

More directors and films added to 2019 RapidLion lineup

The 2019 RapidLion South African International Film Festival will be held at the Market Theatre in Johannesburg from 1 March to 10 March 2019...

6 Feb 2019

Although Russia, as a Brics partner, does not feature prominently in the feature film categories, its filmmakers make a strong showing in the Best Documentary Feature category, with Russian-born filmmaker Xenia Sigalova’s My Russian Spring and Vadim Vitovsev’s Missing Girls both competing in the Best Documentary Feature category.

Here’s a complete list of nominees in each category:

Best International Short:

Mohammad Bakhshi – Ales (Morocco)
Lodi MatsetelaVrede (SA)
Wang Fengtao – Alone (China)
Mohammad Bakhshi – Are You Volleyball? (Iran)
Thora Hilmarsdottir –Salvation (Frelsun) (Iceland)

Best Documentary Feature:

Xenia Sigalova – My Russian Spring (Germany)
Georg Lembergh – Sunken Village
Roberto Manhaes Reis and Viola Scheuerer – Gilda Brazileiro – Against Oblivion (Brazil)
Catherine Meyburgh and Richard Pakleppa – Dying for Gold (SA)
Vadim Vitovtsev – Missing Girls (Russia)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role:

Danton Mello – Before I Forget (Brazil)
Andrew Buckland – Catching Feelings (South Africa)
Xingzhong Wang – Silent Winter (China)
Hamilton Dhlamini – Five Fingers for Marseilles (South Africa)
Silvio – Life Is A Bitch (Brazil)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role:

Xiwen Xu – Silent Winter (China)
Cintaine Schutte – Die Seemeeu (South Africa)
Deborah Lamm – Life Is A Bitch (Brazil)
Zethu Dlomo – Five Fingers for Marseilles (South Africa)
Kandyse McClure – Sew the Winter to My Skin (South Africa)

Best Actor in a Leading Role:

Jose de Abreu - Before I Forget (Brazil)
Shang Bai – Silent Winter (China)
Vuyo Dabula – Five Fingers for Marseilles (South Africa)
Peter Kurth – Sew the Winter to My Skin (South Africa)     
Sean Cameron Michael – The Last Victims (South Africa)

Best Cinematography:

Zhilei Zhang – Silent Winter
Shaun Lee – Five Fingers for Marseilles (South Africa)
Zhao Chunfeng – Shocking KungFu of Huo’s (China)
Jonathan Kovel – Sew The Winter to My Skin (South Africa)                                                                             
Pedro Cardillo – Legalize It – Frienship Never Dies (Brazil)
Meekaaeel Adam – The Last Victims (South Africa)

Best Screenplay:

Sean Drummond - Five Fingers for Marseilles (South Africa)
Jahmil X.T. Qubeka – Sew the Winter to My Skin (South Africa)
Da fei – Silent Winter (China)
Kagiso Lediga – Catching Feelings (South Africa)
Felipe Braga – Legalize It – Friendship Never Dies (Brazil)

Best Film Editing:

David Tao – Shocking KungFu of Huo’s (China)
Layla Swart – Sew the Winter to My Skin (South Africa)
Daniel Mitchell – Five Fingers for Marseilles (South Africa)
Yuye Wang – Silent Winter (China)
Marcelo Junqueira – Legalize it – Friendship Never Dies (Brazil)

Best Director:

Michael Matthews – Five Fingers for Marseilles (South Africa)
Johnny Araujo and Gustavo Bonafe – Legalize it – Friendship Never Dies (Brazil)
Da Fei – Silent Winter (China)
Jahmil XT Qubeka – Sew the Winter to My Skin (South Africa)
David – Shocking KungFu of Huo’s (China)

Best of South Africa:

Five Fingers for Marseilles
Catching Feelings
Sew the Winter to My Skin
The Last Victims
Dying for Gold

The Awards Ceremony will take place on the 9 March 2019. Tickets to the festival are available through
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.