Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Judges selected for Women of the Year Award

Sixteen high profile South Africans have been selected to judge entrants to the 2012 Shoprite Checkers Women of the Year Award. Chaired by High Court Judge, Lucy Mailula, the panel will meet in June 2012. Two rounds of adjudication will be held to determine the category finalists and winners, selected via personal interviews.
Prof Angela Mathee, chair for the category Health-Care Givers
Prof Angela Mathee, chair for the category Health-Care Givers

Prof Angela Mathee chairs the category for Health-Care Givers. An academic who has widely published in the field of public health and tropical medicine, she will be assisted by Prof Pauline Kuzwayo and Dr Petro Terblanche.

In the Educators category, Prof TebohoMoja, who has served as Special Advisor to two Ministers of Education in South Africa, is the chairperson. The other two panel members are Prof Sarah ("Saartjie") Gravett, Dean of the Faculty of Education at the University of Johannesburg and Dr Gcina Mhlophe-Becker, one of the most prominent storytellers in South Africa.

Adv Pansy Tlakula, Chief Electoral Officer of the Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) chairs the Socio-Economic Business Developers Category. Mokgethi Tshabalala, CEO of Thebe Foundation and Suzanne Styles, an entrepreneur, assist her.

The judging panel of the Neighbours Against Crime Category is chaired by Prof Elrena van der Spuy, a member of the Centre of Criminology and Associate-Professor at the Department of Public Law at the University of Cape Town (UCT). She is assisted by Koo Govender, director of corporate marketing & communication at M-Net and Bilkis Omar, chief director of the policy and research unit of the Civilian Secretariat for Police.

The chairperson of the Youth Movers category is Thebe Ikalafeng, one of South Africa's top marketers. Vaughn Bishop, the man who conceptualised and manages the award winning Let's Play campaign and Elana Meyer, CEO of the JAG Sports and Education Foundation, assists him.

Category finalists will be announced on Wednesday 4 July 2012 and winners in each category on Saturday 21 July 2012.

Let's do Biz