Funding News South Africa

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Loerie judges announced

The Loerie Awards judges have been announced and include four international judges: Jonathan Harries, EVP, WW creative director and chairman/CEO, Foote Cone & Beelding (advertising jury chair); Emmy van Gool, creative director, QuA Associates, Amsterdam (design jury chair); Duncan Gray, creative director, Proximity#ttp London (experiential jury chair); and remote judge, Nicke Bergström, creative director, Farfar, Stockholm, Sweden (experiential specialist panel: direct & promotional digital. Judging will take place from 14 - 18 August 2006 at the SABC in Auckland Park.

The Loerie Awards represents the pinnacle of creative communication media in Southern Africa, and entries will be judged according to five criteria:

  1. An innovative concept, bringing new and fresh thinking.
  2. Excellent execution.
  3. Relevance to the brand.
  4. Relevance to the target audience.
  5. Relevance to the chosen medium.

Work that excels in all the above criteria - work that is judged to be effective communication by the jury - represents 'Creative Excellence', and will be rewarded with the highest accolade: a Loerie Award, at the annual creative awards showcase in Margate, 16 - 17 September 2006. The panel of South African and international industry leaders will have a formidable task in seeking out work that is bold and innovative, and that challenges convention.

Over 2800 entries were received in this year's annual Loeries. These are 20% down on the previous year, as was expected said The Loerie Awards CEO, Andrew Human, after the streamlining of categories and the awards criteria, which included no duplications of entries into other categories.

Entries are judged by specialist panels comprised of leaders in their fields. The advertising panel is endorsed by the Creative Circle, the official advertising body; the Design panel is endorsed by Think, the South African Graphic Design Council; and the Experiential category is comprised of experts representing direct, promotional, digital, non-broadcast and live events (Experiential Digital, and Non-broadcast & Live Events will be judged by sub-panels within the category).

Finalists will be announced as soon as the results are available at the end of the judging week. Bronze, Silver, Gold and Grand Prix winners will be announced at the Gala Event on the 16th and 17th of September in Margate.


Jury chairperson: Jonathan Harries, EVP, WW Creative Director & Chairman/CEO, Foote Cone & Beelding
Ahmed Tilly, Creative Director/Driver/Writer/IT Guy/MD, Black River FC
Alistair King, Partner/ Group Creative Director, King James Group
Brett Morris, Executive Creative Director, FCB JHB
Festus Masekwameng, Copywriter, TBWA Hunt Lascaris (Jhb).
Gerry Human, Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy Johannesburg
John Davenport, Creative Director, Ireland/Davenport
Julian James Watt, Executive Creative Director, Net#work BBDO
Kwezi Tladi, Art Director, Herdbuoys McCann
Melusi Tshabalala, Creative Group Head, Young & Rubicam
Molefi Thulo, Group Head, FCB Johannesburg
Porky Hefer, Group Executive Creative Director, Lowe Bull
Rajesh Ranchod, Creative Director, Saatchi & Saatchi
Rob McLennan, Executive Creative Director, JWT | Johannesburg
Roger Paulse, Creative Director, singh&sons.
Ross Chowles, Executive Creative Director, The Jupiter Drawing Room Cape Town
Sandra de Witt, Group Creative Director, TBWA\Hunt\Lascaris - Johannesburg
Vanessa Pearson, Executive Creative Director & Deputy MD, Lobedu Leo Burnett
Zwelakhe Zee Tshabangu, Creative Group Head, Ogilvy Johannesburg
Ivan Johnson, Creative Director, BBDO Cape Town
Wingwing Mdlulwa, Executive Creative Director, Twist



Dave Harris, Owner/Operator, Freq'ncy Audio
Paul Baxter, Sound Engineer, Sonovision


Mariana O'Kelly, Creative Group Head, Net#work BBDO
Ian Lustard, Freelance Illustrator
Pieter Hugo,Freelance Photographer


Roger Smythe, Co-founder, Masters & Savant
Bret Wilde, Cinematographer, Picture Tree
Jonathan Beggs, Ogilvy Jhb


Jury chairperson: Emmy van Gool, Creative Director, QuA Associates, Amsterdam
Gaby De Abreu, Executive Creative Director, The Switch Design Company (Pty) Ltd
Garth Walker, MD-DD,Orange Juice Design
Gary Harwood, Executive Creative Director, HKLM
Iaan Bekker, Design Consultant, @large
Ithateng Mokgoro, Design Director, Gamatong Design Enterprise
Jenny Ehlers, Creative Director, King James RSVP
Kam Naidoo, Senior Designer, Net#work BBDO
Palesa Lehlokoe, Creative Director, Interbrand Sampson
Richard Hart, Design Director, disturbance
Roanna Williams, Creative Director, I want to be an astronaut
Sean Harrison, Creative Director, Code (Company of Designers)
Veejay Archary, Design Director/CEO, Black
Bronwen Rautenbach, Design Director, IG Enterprise
Jo-Anne Thomas, Design Director, The Jupiter Drawing Room CT
Nathan Reddy, Executive Creative Director, GRID


Jury chairperson: Duncan Gray, Creative Director, Proximity#ttp London
Bongiwe Mhlongo, Snr. Copywriter/ Group Head, Ogilvy Jhb
Fraser Lamb, MD, Wunderman
Matthew Barnes, Executive Creative Director,Tequila Jhb
Roelof van Wyk, Creative Director, Trigger Communication
Andrew Ambrogioni, Founder / Executive Creative Director, Action Ambro's
Deon Olivier, Director: Loyalty Business Unit, Achievement Awards Group
Don Paul, Managing Director, Oscar Tango Marketing (Pty) Ltd
Glynn Venter, Creative Director, FCB South Africa - FCBimpact361, Cape Town
Peter Badenhorst, Executive Creative Director, OgilvyOne Worldwide, Ogilvy Interactive
Stu Stobbs, Creative Director, Proximity#TTP
Xolisa Dyeshana, BTL Creative Director, Joe Public JHB
Lisa Christopher, Creative Director, Lesoba Difference


Specialist panel chairperson: Ben Wagner, Chief Executive Officer, STONEWALL+ | The Digital Marketing Agency
(Remote judge) Nicke Bergström, Creative Director, Farfar, Stockholm, Sweden
Brent Shahim, MD, Aqua Online
Bruce Wright, Creative Director, Mnemonic
Douglas Simoes, Design Head, Amorphous
Jackie Ellse, Art Director, Stonewall+
Mark Tomlinson, Founder / Creative Director HelloComputer, HelloComputer
Olivier Schildt, Co-Creative Director, REX
Pete Case, Creative Director, Gloo Digital Design
Peter Stewart, Managing Director, Clickthinking
Sue Disler, Digital Integration, FCB Impact
Uwe Gutschow, Director, AtPlay, Saatchi & Saatchi
Preston Thomas, Creative Director, Pixel Project
Mark Winkler, Creative Director, Ripe
Colin Brandt, Art Director, Silverstone CIS
Gavin Rooke, MD, Trigger


Specialist panel chairperson: Spero Patricios, MD, Launch Factory (Orinco Group)
David Boon, CEO South Africa, Exp. The Demand Activation Agency
Fran Luckin, Creative Director, Ogilvy JHB
Justyn Brett Davies, Creative Director/ Director, The African Motion Picture Company
Kevin van der Molen, Independent Event & Logistics Consultant
Michelle Caldeira, Managing Director, Blue Moon Corporate Communications
Thandi Angela Davids, Managing Director, The Collective
Teboho Malatsi, Director, The Bomb Shelter
Nina Morris, MD, morrisjones&co
Peter Blond, Creative Director, Omage
Thabo Marera, Director, Velocity
Phindile Mkhabele, MD, Dreamcatcher
Zandile Nzalo, CEO, Association for Communication & Advertising


The Integrated Campaign category will be judged by a selection of judges made up from the main panels, as well as aditional experts from the industry.


The Student entries will be judged by the same panels as the main categories.

Related articles:

The creative talent directory
Aigner parodies scam Loeries entries
Loeries travel to Grahamstown
Entry deadline for Loeries extended
Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a... flying Loerie
Two world-acclaimed international judges for Loeries
Loeries call to entries
New rules to level the playing field for Loeries
Travelling with The Loeries
Loeries officially confirmed for Margate

Let's do Biz