Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

SAIA KZN announces awards winners, inducts 2019/2020 president

On Friday, 2 August, the South African Institute for Architects - KwaZulu-Natal Region (SAIA KZN) announced the winners of its 2019 Awards for Architecture and inducted its 2019/2020 president, Patrick Smith.
L-R: Professor Ora Joubert, keynote speaker; incoming president of the SAIA KZN, Patrick Smith; and Musa Shangase of Corobrik, sponsor of the SAIA KZN inauguration and awards ceremony

Originally from the farming community of Creighton in KZN, Smith switched over from his intended agricultural studies to pursue his passion for architecture in 1985. He went on to establish the Kloof-based practice Walker Smith Architects with a former UKZN colleague Dean Walker in 2002. He has worked on a number of residential and commercial projects including the interior design for the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Giving his address at the inauguration, Smith said he regarded the presidency as a massive privilege and looked forward to the work ahead.

“The institution has been around for well over a hundred years and, as such, carries a huge sense of tradition and accomplishment,” said Smith. “With this comes a heavy weight of responsibility that I do not take lightly. While a certain amount of politics is inevitable in a position like this, I do not regard myself as a politician, but rather as someone who is happy digging alongside colleagues in the trenches.”

‘Voice for the architect’

Smith described SAIA KZN as a ‘voice for the architect’ within the province, given our national economic climate. “We have seen the demise of several large construction firms in the last few years as the building industry has slumped. Lack of investor confidence has affected our profession directly and it is at times like this when institutions such as ours have to support our members.”

Keynote speaker for the event was Professor Ora Joubert, a former teacher of the newly-inducted president. Joubert is also the recipient of numerous design awards, including eight Awards of Merit from SAIA and its affiliate chapters, the Corobrik House of the Year Award, three Dulux Colour Awards, and a landscape design award.

Joubert’s talk covered extracts from her recently published book 10+ years 100 projects – architecture in a democratic South Africa. The book documents the most meritorious final-year thesis projects from all the universities offering architectural tuition in the country.

“These projects have never before been documented and the information is gradually being lost,” explained Joubert. “The book also includes a record of the current architectural discourse within our socio-economic and political circumstances, as well as some innovative architectural interpretations.”

2019 awards

SAIA KZN welcomed 15 entries for this year’s awards with adjudication performed by a panel comprising Nadia Tromp of Ntsika Architects; Rozena Maart, professor and immediate-past director of the Centre for Critical Research on Race and Identity at UKZN; Dr Silvia Bodei from SAIA; as well as members from SAIA KZN, Mfundo Maphumulo, Somers Govender, and Patrick Smith. Sydney Baillon and Walter Peters were appointed as convenors. All the 2019 award winners will go forward to the Corobrik SAIA Awards of Merit and Excellence hosted in 2020.

SAIA KZN 2019 Award for Architecture winners

1. Bond Square, 12 Browns Road cnr Albert Terrace, Point, Durban
Emmett: Emmett Architects cc

2. Amendments to Oliver Tambo House,
191 Prince Alfred cnr Gutridge Street, Pietermaritzburg
Ismail Cassimjee Architects

3. 90A_ Bellamont Road, Umdloti
Elphick Proome Architects

4. Magistrate Towers, 5 Magistrate Street, Mtunzini
Jeremy Steere Architect

5. ABSA Bank regional head office
33 Richefont Circle, Ridgeside Office Park, Umhlanga
Elphick Proome Architects

SAIA-KZN 2019 Special Mention

1. Masjid Maryam mosque
50 Samora Machel Street, Durban
Architects Collaborative cc in association with Lindsay Napier Architect

2. Amendments to Albini mission church, Ntshongweni
Lead Architects

3. Restoration of the bell turret
Greenacres (Edgars), 409 Pixley Kaseme (West) Street, Durban
Ocean Architects

SAIA-KZN 2019 Special Mention: Work of Social Importance

1. Bio-efficient cook stoves
Richard Dobson Architect
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.