Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Growsmart Western Cape literacy competition winners

Liwa Primary School from Nyanga has won the Growsmart literacy competition, beating 160 other schools in the Western Cape finals, which were recently held at the V&A Waterfront.

Despite being located in this notoriously dangerous neighbourhood, Liwa Primary School’s hard-working and talented team rose above the difficult circumstance in the community and excelled to win a new iPad learning lab worth R350,000 to further improve education at the school. The top team’s members also won R20,000 each to further their education and their mentor won R10,000.

Triomf Primary triumphs at first Growsmart EC competition

Triomf Primary, located in Salsoneville, Bethelsdorp, has been named the first-ever Growsmart Eastern Cape champion and winner of the R75,000 first prize...

28 Sep 2018

Winning team members and mentors in all categories were rewarded with prizes totalling over R500,000.


  1. Liwa Primary School, Nyanga
    Team: Unamandla Mqaleni, Tshiamo Phago and Alizwa Ntolosi
    Mentor: Andrew S Gumindoga

  2. Marconi Beam Primary School, Danoon
    Team: Owami Ngqwebo, Yolanda Valashiya and Sumbane Inathi
    Mentor: Masibulele Ngcobozi

  3. Northpine Primary School, Brackenfell
    Team: Payton Kotze, Ashlyn Solomons, and Motheo Morwasetlha
    Mentor: Nicole Williams


  1. Spineview Primary School, Mitchells Plein
    Team: Haydan Millward, Cheslyn Rose and Lakeisha Jantjies
    Mentor: Teresa Adams

  2. St Augustine’s Primary School, Wynberg
    Team: Jordan-Lee Hattingh, Fahid Amir Hassan and Brent Stockenstroom
    Mentor: Celeste Ruiters

  3. Blomvlei Primary School, Hanover Park
    Team: Myrsini Cyster, Alisha Barnes and Daylene Van Dieman
    Mentor: Dean Samson


  1. Blackheath Primary, Blue Downs
    Team: Leila Graaff, Brendon Lewis and Caiden Adams
    Mentor: Mercia Fourie

  2. Balvenie Primary, Elsies River
    Team: Beyonce Pipers, Liam Swartz and Audrey Absalom
    Mentor: Ursula De Villiers

  3. Floreat Primary, Retreat
    Team: Gugu Mbhele, Malachi Asia and Simamkele Dekeni
    Mentor: Kristi Jooste


  1. Intshayelelo Primary, Khayelitsha
    Team: Lelethu Diamond, Jwili Aphelele, and Milani Mraji
    Mentor: Nolundi Mbaba

  2. Lantana Primary, Mitchells Plein
    Team: Amran Soeker, Raheemah Brown and Tamlin Kannemeyer
    Mentor: Jamie Kiewiet

Story writing

  1. Lithaluthu Gida of Belmore Primary, Hanover Park
    Mentor: Charnell Hector

  2. Diego Esau of Blackheath Primary, Blue Downs
    Mentor: Madelaine Swartz

  3. Nonhlanhla Mpetha of Intshayelelo Primary, Khayelitsha
    Mentor: Nolundi Mbaba

    Most Creative: Tinevimbo Meki of Factretorn Primary, Maitland
    Mentor: Callan J Lewin
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.