Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

2011 Tabbie Awards winners

CLEVELAND, US: The 2011 Tabbie Awards featured nearly 400 entries, with nominations coming from the US, Canada, the UK, India, New Zealand and South Africa. Judges were once again impressed by the quality of the submissions. One of the two 2011 Scholarship winners hails from SA, too.
Highlighting the Best Single Issue category - the competition's most comprehensive - are entries from BizEd, Leadership, and Emergency Management, which took the Gold, Silver and Bronze awards respectively. The Top 25 of the Best Single Issue category include Automotive News, CE Vision, Commercial Investment Real Estate, Employee Benefit News, Estates Gazette, GPN, Indesign, Infrastructure Today, Law Enforcement Technology, LP Gas Magazine, New Zealand Doctor, News & Tech, PCMA Convene, Pharmacy Today, The College Store, and Valuation magazine.

Gold design award winners are Instore for Feature Design, Singaport Nautilus for Front Cover, Digital Imagery; Education Executive for Front Cover, Illustration; Graphic Arts Monthly, for Front Cover, Photograph; Exhibitor Magazine for Front Cover, Special Issue; ACC Docket for Opening Page or Spread and Exhibitor Magazine for Table of Contents.

Gold editorial award winners are Chemist Druggist for Department; The Journal of Commerce for Editor's Column; Instore for Feature Article; Family Business for Focus/Profile Article; Instore for How-To Article; Modern Healthcare for News Coverage; Modern Healthcare for Single News Article; Atlantic Business Magazine for Regular Column; Best's Review for Special Section; and Civil Engineering for Technical Article.

This year's Best B2B Website winners are, and, which won the Gold, Silver and Bronze awards. Magazines that took home four or more awards are ACC Docket, Exhibitor Magazine, HousingWire, Instore, Modern Healthcare, NCAA Champion and Pizza Today.

Complete results, along with selected comments from the judges and samples of the winning entries, are available at

2011 Scholarships winners hail from UK, South Africa

The TABPI Young Leaders Scholarship was created to increase interest in the B2B publishing world with younger editors who are advancing in their editorial careers. The scholarship is sponsored by TABPI and the American Society of Business Publication Editors (ASBPE). The scholarship allows younger editors - who might otherwise be unable - to attend an educational B2B editorial event. This year's scholarship is to attend the ASBPE Editorial Conference, scheduled for 4-5 August 2011 in Chicago, Ill., USA.

This year's winners:

Kavith Harrilall is current business editor of The Witness Newspaper, Weekend Witness Newspaper (February 2006 - present), where he is responsible for researching and writing business, economic and general news stories; constructing graphs that accompany stories & basic press photography; preparing pages for daily newspaper editions by determining the content, including editing stories. He was formerly a journalist at East Coast Radio Newswatch.

Matthew Wright is the editor of Clinical Pharmacist, a trade magazine that supports the education and development of UK pharmacists working in clinical roles. He first trained as a pharmacist in Brisbane, Australia, before relocating to the UK to pursue new career opportunities. Matthew became a journalist for The Pharmaceutical Journal in January 2006, combining his knowledge of medicines with a love of writing. Matthew took on his current editorship in September 2008 and led the redesign of the publication to its successful relaunch in January 2009. Matthew lives in London and when not working he likes to escape to the countryside to walk.

For more, go to and

Updated at 5.08pm on 27 July 2011.

Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.