Mobile News West Africa


Advertise your job ad
    Search jobs

    West Africa mobile awards finalists announced

    The West Africa Mobile Awards (WAMAS), the West African technology awards which looks to recognise the region's leading mobile and tech companies, have announced the 2017 shortlisted finalists.
    West Africa mobile awards finalists announced

    With over 150 submissions coming in from across 14 countries, the awards looks to build on the success of last year’s WAMAS. 2017 has produced a vast array of entries from exciting new technologies and services, from startups to established ventures driving progress in West Africa.

    The WAMAS are supported by BBM, Mobile West Africa (MWA),, Wimbart PR, Dress Me Outlet, Kasi Insights and many other industry-leading organisations and publications.

    A prestigious judging panel featuring experts from AppsTech, Disrupt Africa, TechLoy, Women In Tech Africa, CcHub and many others, worked together to down-select from the many worthy entries and create the shortlist.

    The shortlisted finalists by category are as follows:

    Best App

    JORG Technologies, MyAds Global, PayWithCapture, ScholarX, Sliide Airtime.

    Commerce & Retail

    BrowseDotCom, BuyOverChat Technologies, Dress Me Outlet,, OLX.


    Bincom ICT Solution, Flutterwave, GoodWealth, Mahindra Comviva, Piggybank Nigeria.

    Mobile Education, iConcepts, Opportunity Space, Optiweb Communications,

    Mobile Innovation

    Eskimi, MallforAfrica, Optiweb Communications, Sliide Airtime, VAS2Nets Technologies.

    Mobile Marketing Campaign

    Bloom Interactive, Cloomify, Tecno Mobile, The Guardian, Unilever.

    Social Impact

    Dimagi, Human Network International, Mahindra Comviva, MOBicure, MTN Nigeria.

    Social, News & Entertainment

    BattaBox, Bloom Interactive, Media Navigation, Optiweb Communications, The Guardian.

    Outstanding Industry Achievement

    Faith Adesemowo, Omobola Johnson, Rebecca Enonchong, Ugo Okoye, Vytautas Paukstys.

    Young Gun of the Year Award

    Andrew Airelobhegbe (ogaVenue), Corbyn Munnik (Sliide Airtime), Iyin Aboyeji (Flutterwave), Lum-Neh Angela (Opportunity Space), Odionye Confidence (Beat Traffik).

    All shortlisted companies will be celebrated and the winners announced during an awards gala party on the evening of 18 May at Rooftop Lagos, with over 150 mobile industry executives, international media, investors, prestigious judges and sponsors.

    Source: IT News Africa

    IT News Africa, established in 2008, is a leading provider of Africa focused ICT news and information aimed at technology professionals and businessmen.

    Go to:
    Let's do Biz