Architecture & Design News Global

Final call to enter $2m LafargeHolcim Awards

Entries in the 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards for sustainable construction will close on 25 February. The competition seeks projects by professionals as well as bold ideas from the next generation that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence.
All images courtesy of The LafargeHolcim Foundation
All images courtesy of The LafargeHolcim Foundation

The awards foreground projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology, and related fields.

The competition takes place in parallel across five geographic regions – each with its own jury of renowned and independent specialists. The regional juries are headed by Jeannette Kuo, Karamuk Kuo Architects (Europe), Reed Kroloff, Illinois Institute of Technology (North America), Loreta Castro Reguera, Taller Capital (Latin America), Mariam Kamara, atelier masōmī (Middle East Africa) and Nirmal Kishnani, National University of Singapore (Asia Pacific).

The main category of the competition is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms showcasing sustainable responses within contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before 1 January 2019.

Next Generation category

In addition, students and young professionals (aged 30 years or younger) may submit visionary concepts and bold ideas in the Next Generation category of the competition. Submissions may be at an early stage of design – including research and design studio work.

All images courtesy of The LafargeHolcim Foundation
All images courtesy of The LafargeHolcim Foundation

Submissions are evaluated according to five "target issues" for sustainable construction – that aim to clarify principles for sustaining the human habitat for future generations.

The winners will be announced in the second half of 2020 at awards ceremonies in each region. The main winners then compete for the Global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2021, to be evaluated by a global jury headed by Hashim Sarkis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA and curator of the 2020 Venice Biennale of Architecture.

Article originally published on World Architecture Community.

Source: World Architecture Community

Since 2006, World Architecture Community provides a unique environment for architects, architecture students and academics around the globe to meet, share and compete.

Go to:
Let's do Biz