Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

TCM'S Annual Short Film Competition open for entries

Due to popular demand from filmmakers, Turner Classic Movies (TCM) has, for the first time, opened its annual short film competition entry gates to the African, the Middle Eastern and European industries (EMEA).
TCM Classic Shorts, founded in 2000, aims to be one of the most prestigious and valuable short film competitions of its kind in EMEA, awarding £10,000 of prize money (£5,000 1st prize; £3,000 2nd prize; £2,000 3rd prize). In addition it gives the entrants exposure to a celebrated panel of judges who bring their expertise from all angles of the film industry.

This year's judging panel is:
  • Lasse Hallstrom - Director, writer, producer: My Life as a Dog, The Cider House Rules
  • Kevin Macdonald - Director, writer, producer: The Last King of Scotland, Touching The Void
  • Simon Pegg - Director, Actor, Writer: Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead, Mission Impossible III
  • Stephen Woolley - Producer and director: The Crying Game, Stoned
  • Cillian Murphy - Actor: Sunshine, Girl with a Pearl Earring
  • Paul Andrew Williams - Director: London To Brighton
  • Wendy Ide - Film critic: The Times
  • Jason Solomons - Film critic: BBC
  • Nev Pierce - Editor: Total Film magazine
  • Dan Jolin - Features editor: Empire magazine

The competition prides itself on having discovered some of the best new filmmaking talent in the UK in recent years; last year's winner Silence is Golden by Chris Shepherd featured some innovative animation and Jane Lloyd, the previous year's winner was used by David Gray as the video for his new single, Alibi.

The award ceremony is held as one of the special events at The Times BFI London Film Festival on 30 October.

Many of the short-listed films from previous years have also gone on to receive further acclaim; 2006 finalist Cubs directed by Tom Harper was nominated for a BAFTA, as did 2004 winner Nits directed by Harry Wootliff. Both 2002 entry Brown Paper Bag directed by Michael Baig Clifford and 2001 winner About A Girl directed by Brian Percival, went on to win BAFTAs for Best Short Film. Gerald McMorrow, whose film Thespian X won in 2002, is now directing a feature film, Franklyn, with Hanway Films.

TCM Classic Shorts is open to all short films from EMEA. If they have not been made in English they will require English subtitles. All films must be received by 1 August 2007 at the very latest. The short-listed nominations are aired during a special weekend of programming on TCM on 3 - 4 November and also screened at The Times BFI London Film Festival during the awards ceremony on 30th October.

Further information and entry forms are available at:
For further information about The Times BFI London Film Festival, please log on to: