Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

African top bankers honoured at AfDB annual meetings

Africa's top bankers gathered in Arusha, Tanzania, to celebrate the 6th edition of the African Banker Awards, under the patronage of the African Development Bank (AfDB). Olusegun Agbaje, managing director of Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria scooped the prize for African Banker of the Year.
He was presented with his trophy by Tim Turner, director of the Private Sector Operations of the African Development Bank at Frangipani Gardens in Arusha, where the awards ceremony took place.

Ecobank beat tough competition posed by six other contestants in its category to come out on top as African Bank of the Year. The bank was given particular credit for its continued expansion throughout Middle Africa as the pan African bank. Ecobank got a strong endorsement when South Africa's Public Investment Corporation officially signed the US$250m investment agreement in the group.

Recognising Africa's diversity

The Best Regional Bank category named a winner from each of the five regions of Africa: Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco for North Africa; BGFI, Gabon for Central Africa; Bank of Kigali, Rwanda for East Africa; Access Bank, Nigeria for West Africa; and BCI, Mozambique for Southern Africa - highlighting Africa's diversity but strength as one continent.

Arnold Ekpe, a well recognised face in the African banking community, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Eleni Gabre-Mahdin, founder and managing director of the Ethiopia Commodities Exchange follows in the footsteps of Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala and Adebayo Ogunlesi to win the African Banker Icon Award.

Hon. Mambury Njie, minister of finance for Gambia; Hon. John Rwangombwa, minister of finance for Rwanda; Dr Mustapha Kamel Nabli, central bank governor for Tunisia; Professor Njuguna Ndung'u, central bank governor for Kenya; Arunma Oteh, director general of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), Nigeria; and BBC World News presenter, Zeinab Badawi were among the guests in attendance.

Commenting on the ceremony, Omar Ben Yedder, publisher of African Banker said, "We have recognised some superb individuals and institutions tonight. Africa's financial sector is a major vehicle for driving the economic growth that has become the talk of the investor community around the world. We have honoured individuals who are prepared to take the bull by the horn, to carry out well thought out visions and who have raised the bar and in some cases taken difficult decisions to deliver on their agenda. Good examples are the central bank governor of Tunisia and the finance minister of Guinea. The winners this year represent a good mix between francophone and Anglophone Africa, big and small countries. They reflect the achievements in banking and finance all over Africa."

The African Banker Awards are organised by African Banker magazine, IC Events and BusinessinAfrica Events. It is an event that celebrates excellence and best practices in African banking and finance.


The full list of winners are:

African Bank of the Year

  • Ecobank (ETI), Togo

    African Banker of the Year

  • Olusegun Agbaje, managing director, Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria

    Best Regional Bank in Africa

  • Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco - North Africa

  • BGFI, Gabon - Central Africa

  • Bank of Kigali, Rwanda - East Africa

  • Access Bank, Nigeria - West Africa

  • BCI, Mozambique - Southern Africa

    Investment Bank of the Year

  • Renaissance Capital

    Award for Innovation in Banking

  • Equity Bank, Kenya

    Socially Responsible Bank of the Year

  • BMCE Bank Group, Morocco

    Award for Financial Inclusion

  • Groupe Banque Populaire, Morocco

    Deal of the Year

  • Jinchuan's Acquisition of Metorex - Standard Bank Group

    Best Bond Deal

  • Republic of Senegal: Sovereign Bond Issue - Standard Chartered Bank

    Investment Fund/Private Equity Fund of the Year

  • Citadel Capital, Egypt

    Best Retail Bank in Africa

  • Coris Bank International, Burkina Faso

    Central Bank Governor of the Year

  • HE Mustapha Kamel Nabli, central bank governor, Tunisia

    Finance Minister of the Year

  • HE Kerfalla Yansané, Minister of Finance, Guinea

    Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Arnold Ekpe

    African Banker Icon

  • Dr Eleni Gabre-Mahdin, founder and CEO, Ethiopia Commodities Exchange
  • Comment