• Submit news
  • Advertise & rates
  • Contact us

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Press offices

Enquire about a press office
Bizcommunity has over 400 industry contributors and we always welcome further contributions and contributors.
Advertise with us
Advertise & RatesMy Account
Company press officeList company
Recruitment packagesSubmit job ad
Download ratecard
Media news

Sanlam revamps Financial Journalism Awards

9 Dec 2013 11:21
The Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism, which have opened for entries, have grouped next year's awards into platform neutral, platform specific and special awards. The new-look awards broaden the scope of the competition and aim to recognise and reward the achievements of today's business journalists in the most relevant way possible.
Ainsley Moos, Sanlam's head of group communication, said the most significant change is the introduction of platform neutral and platform specific sections. "The aim of the first section is to reward content generated on a range of subjects independent of the platform it was produced for. Here we will look at all entries on the topic of, for instance, economics and select the best entry based on a number of criteria. This is a departure from our previous format where we awarded these categories only for print journalism entries.

"The platform specific section is all about recognising the different skills needed for each platform. So here, we will name the TV financial journalist of the year, radio financial journalist of the year etc. The winners will be those journalists who excel in their specific medium. In this section we also recognise those journalists who proficiently reporting across multiple mediums, a skill which is increasingly demanded of today's journalist."

A special award will be included in the 2013 awards, the entries for which open on 28 November 2013. 'The African Growth Story' award is open to journalists from across the continent who work for African media vehicles (i.e. print, TV, radio or online media that are based in Africa and are targeted at African audiences). It aims to honour the individual who best captures the growth story of the continent in terms of, for instance, investments, infrastructural development or economic analysis.

Judging panel

The judging panel will use the following criteria to evaluate entries: news value, impact, rigour in reporting, analytical value, originality, integrity, specialist knowledge, storytelling. Peter Vundla, Chairman of AMB Capital Limited, is the convenor of the judging panel and will be joined once again by Charles Naude, retired editor; Caroline Southey, Absa; Maud Motanyane, Kagiso Media; Ulrich Joubert, independent economist and Reg Rumney, Rhodes University.

The judging panel has been strengthened this year with the inclusion of Nixon Kariithi who is CEO of Tangaza Africa Media and was previously associate professor of journalism and media studies at the University of the Witwatersand, and Jabulani Sikhakhane, chief director: communications at the National Treasury and a previous political editor at Independent Newspapers.

Vundla said the revised format and expanded categories will provide journalists working in every format and medium appropriately tailored categories in which to compete. "We feel sure the broadened scope will encourage more reporters to enter and the judging panel is looking forward to some strong entries and a hotly-contested 2013 contest."

Full awards list

The platform neutral awards are open to journalists working in any medium (print, radio, TV, online, multimedia) and are awards are given in:
    • Business
    • Economy
    • Financial markets
    • Consumer financial education
    • African Growth Story
The platform specific awards are:

    • Radio financial journalist of the year
    • Television financial journalist of the year
    • Print financial journalist of the year
    • Online financial journalist of the year
    • Multi-media financial journalist of the year (awarded to the individual who reports most effectively across multiple platforms including print, TV, radio and digital)
In the special awards category, the awards are:
    • Best Newcomer
    • Lifetime Achiever
    • 2013 Financial Journalist of the Year
For more information, go to www.sanlam.co.za/journoawards.
LEGAL DISCLAIMER: This Message Board accepts no liability of legal consequences that arise from the Message Boards (e.g. defamation, slander, or other such crimes). All posted messages are the sole property of their respective authors. The maintainer does retain the right to remove any message posts for whatever reasons. People that post messages to this forum are not to libel/slander nor in any other way depict a company, entity, individual(s), or service in a false light; should they do so, the legal consequences are theirs alone. Bizcommunity.com will disclose authors' IP addresses to authorities if compelled to do so by a court of law.

Related news