Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

Manufacturing Indaba 2018

Apex 2014 jury selected

The jury panel for the Apex Awards has been selected for the 2014 awards. It is made up of experts from various disciplines within the business of advertising and communications including research, strategy, media, creative direction, marketing and digital.
Judges will be scrutinising the case studies of each submission for campaigns that broke through the clutter, had extensive reach and communicated via relevant mediums to reach and resonate with desired target audience. The rigorous adjudication process spans three rounds when submissions will be judged against specific criteria including rigour, degree of difficulty, clarity of evidence, compelling case and insight.

What the judges are looking for

Vice-chairman of the jury and CEO of TBWA\Hunt\Lascaris, Ivan Moroke says, "The awards celebrate the power of the profession to deliver business results. We are looking for the relationship between creativity and effectiveness; the two are not mutually exclusive but two sides of the same coin. We want admissions that demonstrate loyalty to brand value and effectively taken across consumer groups. We are looking for campaigns that exceeded objectives and went beyond them."

"We want to see how agencies effectively contributed to their clients businesses and to the success of a brand. We want admissions that are a clear demonstration of the vital role that effective advertising and marketing communications play in business sector," adds Richard Stewart, MD of Millward Brown.

Name of JudgeDesignation Company
Ahmed TillyExecutive Creative DirectorBlack River FC
Ana CarrapichanoGroup Managing DirectorMediology
Andy RiceChairmanYellowwood
Ayanda MbangaDeputy CEOSaatchi & Saatchi
Boniswa PezisaGroup MDNetwork BBDO
David BlythGroup MDYellowwood
Doug PlaceMarketing ExecutiveSter Kinekor Theatres
Enzo ScarcellaChief Marketing OfficerTelkom
Fran LuckinExecutive Creative DirectorQuirk Johannesburg
Gareth LeckCEOJoe Public
Haydn TownsendChairmanBlk Ops
Ivan MorokeCEOTBWA\Hunt\Lascaris
Jarred CinmanManaging DirectorNative
Jenny MooreBusiness Solutions DirectorKLA
Jeremy SampsonGroup Executive ChairmanInterbrandSampson
Lethepu MatshabaMarketing Director: Personal CareUnilever
Malusi ThuCEOBFG Consulting
Maria PhillipsCEOMindshare
Mariana O'Kellyco-Executive Creative DirectorOgilvy Johannesburg
Michael CathieChief Marketing OfficerNandos
Mimi NicklinStrategic Director34
Neil HiggsSenior Advisor & Head of InnovationTNS South Africa
Odette van der HaarCEOACA
Richard Stewart Managing DirectorMillward Brown South Africa
Rob McLennanCreative FounderKing James II
Sean ClarkeOperations DirectorThe Media Shop
Sizakele MarutlulleCEOMoonchild
Virginia HollisManaging DirectorMagnetic Connections

Key partners SABC and sponsors Ads 24 and its brands City Press and Rapport, DSTV Media Sales, Millward Brown and the Sandton Convention Centre sponsor the 2014 APEX awards.