Subscribe to industry newsletters

BizTrends 2018

Advertise on Bizcommunity

Manufacturing Indaba 2018

MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards winners announced

The Media Development and Diversity Agency and Sanlam are pleased to announce the winners of the MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards which were presented on Friday, 23 May, at a gala event held at Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre in Boksburg near Johannesburg.
Some of the top honours went to Zita Goldswain of Witbank News who took the honours as Journalist of the Year, NFM the coveted Community Radio Station of the Year while Bush Radio took the prestigious Rantho-Letsebe Community Media Award, Herman Steyn of Die Pos/The Post was again named Press Photographer of the Year and Laila Maijiet of the People's Post was awarded the Alet Roux Medal for the best newcomer in print journalism.

Congratulating the winners, the CEO of the MDDA Mr Lumko Mtimde said: "We wish to congratulate the winners for excellent work and thank all those who took their time to enter the Awards. We also acknowledge and thank the two judging panels for the broadcast and print sections who selflessly give of their time to ensure that we have a thorough, fair and credible process."

Seven hundred and fifty entries were received for the 2013 Awards, the biggest response to the awards since the partnership between the MDDA and Sanlam four years ago.

Sanlam's Head of Group Communications, Ainsley Moos, said: "We are inspired by the steady growth of the Awards initiative. It is from wide participation that we can sustain the Awards and have serious competition. The judging panels have done an excellent job to identify the best from what we believe was a great body of work from the entrants."

The winners are as follows:



MDDA's press office

"The Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA) is a development agency for promoting media development and diversity, a partnership between the South African Government and major print and broadcasting media companies to assist in (amongst others) developing community and small commercial media, in terms of the MDDA Act No 14 of 2002.