Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

2012 African Banker Awards shortlist announced

The African Banker Awards has released the shortlist of nominees for the 2012 competition. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 30 May 2012, which makes its debut in Africa. This year's event coincides with the annual African Development Bank (AfDB) meetings in Arusha, Tanzania

The competition

With a record number of entries received for this year's competition the Bank of the Year and Banker of the Year categories both have seven nominees competing for a trophy.

Anglophone and Francophone Africa are near evenly matched in the Banker of the Year category where the shortlisted candidates are: Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, managing director of Access Bank, Nigeria; Amadou Kane, president directeur general, Banque Internationale pour le Commerce et l'Industrie du Sénégal (BICIS), Senegal; Bisi Onasanya, group managing director and CEO of FirstBank of Nigeria; James Benoit, CEO and executive director of AfrAsia Bank, Mauritius; Olusegun Agbaje, managing director of Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria; Othman Benjelloun, chairman and CEO of BMCE Bank Group, Morocco; and Pa Macoumba M. Njie, managing director of Trust Bank, The Gambia.

Nigeria and South Africa compete neck and neck in the highly anticipated Bank of the Year category with Access Bank, FirstBank of Nigeria, Standard Bank Group, and Standard Chartered in the running; however they face stiff competition from heavyweights Equity Bank, Kenya; Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco; and Ecobank (ETI), Togo.

However, it is East Africa that dominates the Financial Inclusion category with the line-up comprising Banque Rwandaise de Développement (BRD), Rwanda; BRAC Tanzania; Equity Bank, Kenya; Banque Populaire, Morocco; and Trust Merchant Bank SARL, DR Congo.

The Best Retail Bank category makes its debut this year with the first-time nominee Coris Bank International, Burkina Faso going up against the previously shortlisted candidates Diamond Bank, Nigeria, Millennium BIM, Mozambique, Banque Populaire, Morocco, and the National Bank of Egypt.


African Bank of the Year

  • Access Bank, Nigeria
  • Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco
  • Ecobank (ETI), Togo
  • Equity Bank, Kenya
  • FirstBank of Nigeria
  • Standard Bank Group, South Africa
  • Standard Chartered Bank, South Africa

African Banker of the Year

  • Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, managing director, Access Bank, Nigeria
  • Amadou Kane, président directeur Général, Banque Internationale pour le Commerce et l'Industrie du Sénégal (BICIS), Senegal
  • Bisi Onasanya, group managing director & CEO, FirstBank of Nigeria
  • James Benoit, CEO and executive director, AfrAsia Bank, Mauritius
  • Olusegun Agbaje, managing director, Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria
  • Othman Benjelloun, chairman and CEO, BMCE Bank Group, Morocco
  • Pa Macoumba M. Njie, managing director, Trust Bank, The Gambia

Investment Bank of the Year

  • Citi Bank
  • J.P. Morgan
  • Renaissance Capital
  • Standard Bank Group/Stanbic Bank
  • Standard Chartered Bank

Award for Innovation in Banking

  • Access Bank, Nigeria
  • Equity Bank, Kenya
  • FirstBank of Nigeria
  • Money Express, Senegal
  • Stanbic Bank, Uganda

Socially Responsible Bank of the Year

  • BMCE Bank Group, Morocco
  • Equity Bank, Kenya
  • Guaranty Trust Bank, Nigeria
  • Millennium BIM, Mozambique
  • Nedbank Group, South Africa

Award for Financial Inclusion

  • Banque Rwandaise de Développement (BRD), Rwanda
  • BRAC Tanzania
  • Equity Bank, Kenya
  • Banque Populaire, Morocco
  • Trust Merchant Bank SARL, DR Congo

Deal of the Year

  • Acquisition of Oceanic Bank - Ecobank (ETI)
  • Acquisitions of stakes in Pepkor and Premier - Rand Merchant Bank
  • Jinchuan's Acquisition of Metorex - Standard Bank Group
  • Rift Valley Railways - Citadel Capital
  • Syndicated Oil-Export Backed Facility "SEPLAT" - AFREXIM

Bond Deal of the Year

  • AFREXIM Bank Bond - Commerzbank
  • Eskom Bond - JP Morgan
  • Republic of Namibia: Debut Sovereign Eurobond - Standard Bank Group / Absa Capital
  • Republic of Senegal: Sovereign Bond Issue - Standard Chartered Bank
  • Sea Trucks Group, pre IPO Convertible Bond - Absa Capital

Investment Fund/Private Equity Fund of the Year

  • African Development Corporation
  • Citadel Capital, Egypt
  • Emerging Capital Partners (ECP)
  • Standard Chartered Bank - Private Equity
  • Silk Invest

Best Retail Bank in Africa

  • Coris Bank International, Burkina Faso
  • Diamond Bank, Nigeria
  • Millennium BIM, Mozambique
  • Banque Populaire, Morocco
  • National Bank of Egypt

Commenting on this year's entries Omar Ben Yedder, publisher of African Banker magazine, said, "We are excited to recognise and celebrate these African champions in Arusha during the AfDB annual meetings. The entries have become stronger year on year, and the committee is impressed by the role financial institutions are playing in driving growth, especially the increasing number of big ticket deals and also smaller ones, creating a blueprint for others to replicate."

The awards, organised by African Banker magazine, IC Events and BusinessinAfrica Events, brings together over 300 key industry players and top government officials from Africa and around the world to celebrate excellence and best practices in African banking and finance.

An independent panel of judges, known and respected for their expertise on the African banking and finance industry, will decide the final winners of each category.

Mediterranean Smart Cards Company (MSCC) is the Platinum sponsor for this year's African Banker Awards. Other sponsors include the Ecobank and Nedbank Alliance, Harland Financial Solutions, Giesecke & Devrient, Air Charter Logistics and BIAT.