Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2012 winners announced

Tom Mboya and Evanson Nyaga, from Kenya, have been awarded the top prize at this year's CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2012 Awards Ceremony which took place on Saturday, 21 July 2012, in Zambia.
L to R: Multichoice Africa CEO, Nico Meyer; Tom Mboya, Citizen TV-Kenya; Zambian Foreign Affairs Minister, Given Lubinda; Evanson Nyaga, Citizen TV-Kenya and senior vice president for CNN Worldwide, Parisa Khosravi.
click to enlarge
Mboya and Nyaga, won for their work 'African Tribe in India', which aired on Citizen TV, Kenya and was chosen from among 1 799 entries from 42 nations across the African continent. Their work tells the story of an African tribe in India, long forgotten and little known about, based in Karnataka, Southern India.

Tom and Evanson were among the 34 finalists at the awards ceremony and were winners in the category 'Television Features Award (TV60).'

The awards, which rotate location each year in tribute to their pan-African credentials, were hosted by CNN and MultiChoice at Auditorium Hall, Government Complex Convention Centre, Lusaka, Zambia and broadcast live on ZNBC.

Nico Meyer, CEO MultiChoice Africa; Parisa Khosravi, senior vice president for CNN Worldwide in charge of International Newsgathering, and Hon. Given Lubinda MP, Minister of Foreign Affairs, presented the top prize to the pair from Kenya.

Mboya said, "Journalism is a profession that allows you to go in, and then bring out what the world needs to know. It is humbling that the Father Lord has brought us this."

Nyaga added, "I am truly humbled by this."

Member of the judging panel, journalist and media consultant Joel Kibazo said: "This story introduced the viewer to something new, an African tribe in India few know about. The journalist took the viewer with him to India, and the village to speak to the tribe members. An all round detailed story that was well told."

Khosravi said, "The men and women who enter these awards have become part of a community of excellence, representing the very best in journalism and maintaining the highest standards of journalistic integrity. Their resourcefulness and bravery in pursuing the story has my deepest admiration."

Collins Khumalo, CEO MultiChoice South Africa said, "We salute the finalists and the winners of the 2012 awards. These journalists give a voice to Africa and help to make that voice heard around the world. We encourage journalists from around the African continent to continue to tell the stories of Africa - who knows, your story might be celebrated at the 2013 awards."

Nico Meyer, CEO MultiChoice Africa, said: "Each year we are amazed at the growing number of entries we receive for the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Award and we continue to marvel at the growing quality of entries - a great indication of the talent and skills pool in the continent. All tonight's winners should be very proud of their achievements and we wish them well as they advance to a higher level of global influence. The selfless nature of the trade often displayed in the work done by our journalistic community is once again to be commended and honoured. As MultiChoice we are committed to the empowerment of Africa's communities, and telling stories of their lives to raise awareness of their plight is commendable. We salute all journalists and tonight's winners for their contribution to the development of open and democratic societies, creating future hope for generations to come."

Free Press Africa Award

The evening also recognised Enenche Akogwu and Zakariya Isa as this year's recipients of the Free Press Africa Award, for their work in Nigeria. Isa, a cameraman for the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA), was killed in October 2011, and Akogwu, a news reporter with Channels Television, was shot and killed, having covered the Kano bomb blast in January this year.

The CNN MultiChoice competition is now in its 17th year. The prestigious sponsors include: A24 Media; African Development Bank (AfDB); The Coca-Cola Company; Ecobank; Ericsson; Intercontinental Hotel, Lusaka; IPP Media, Tanzania; MSD; Nokia; SuperSport; and UNICEF.
The Awards' 34 finalists from 12 countries enjoyed an all expenses paid five day programme of workshops, media forums, networking and had the opportunity to see some of the sights of Zambia.

Other winners

Winners in the individual competition categories are:

  • Arts & Culture Award: Andrew Mulenga, freelance for The Post Newspaper, Zambia for 'In Mali, The Kora Is No One-Night Stand, It Requires Commitment'
  • Digital Journalism Award: Demelza Bush, Craig McKune and Verashni Pillay, The Mail and Guardian Online, South Africa for 'Leasing Scams: A Dummy's Guide'
  • The Coca-Cola Company Economics and Business Award: Joy Summers, Carte Blanche, South Africa for 'Central Rand Gold'
  • Environment Award: Gerald Tenywa, Saturday Vision, Uganda for 'Concrete Graves Threaten Environment'
  • Francophone General News Awards - Print: Manar Attiya, Ahram Hebdo, Egypt for 'Profession: Semer La Terreur'
  • Francophone General News Awards - TV/Radio: Najlae Benmbarek, 2M TV, Morocco for 'Devoir de Memoire'
  • Free Press Africa Award: Enenche Akogwu and Zakariya Isa.
  • The HIV/AIDS Reporting Award: John Muchangi Njiru, The Star, Kenya for Inside the Life of Nairobi Male Sex Workers'
  • Mohamed Amin Photographic Award: Antoine de Ras, The Star, South Africa for 'Pulse of the People'
  • MSD Health & Medical Award: Megan Small and Clive Mtshai, 3rd Degree,, South Africa for 'Elephant Woman'
  • Portuguese Language General News Award - Print: Isabel João, Novo Jornal, Angola for 'A Vida Nas Cadeias (Descida Ao Inferno)'
  • Portuguese Language General News Award - TV/Radio: Arsénio Henriques Cossa, Soico - STV, Mozambique for 'Garimpo: A Vida Pelo Ouro'
  • Print General News Award: Adriaan Basson and Piet Rampedi, City Press, South Africa for 'Series on Julius Malema'
  • Radio General News Award: Joshua Anny, Joy FM, Ghana for 'Squatter's Paradise'
  • Sport Award: Waihiga Mwaura and Jepitha Mwai Mwangi, Citizen TV, Kenya for 'Maasai Cricket Warriors'
  • Television Features Award (TV60): Tom Mboya and Evanson Nyaga, Citizen TV, Kenya for 'African Tribe in India'
  • Television News Bulletin Award (TV5): Nimrod Taabu Mwagamoyo and Charles Kinyua Kariuki NTV Kenya for 'Pokot Water Challenges'
  • Tourism Award: Ahaoma Kanu, National Daily newspaper, Nigeria for 'Badagry: A Walk Through the Slave Route'

    Again this year the Judges highlighted some excellent work and awarded certificates of Commendation to ten journalists. These journalists participated in the finalists' programme in Lusaka and received a cash prize, a Nokia 800 Lumia and a Certificate of Commendation:

  • Stephen Ssenkaaba, New Vision, Uganda
  • Nelson Wesonga, Daily Monitor, Uganda
  • Tunde Akingbade, Freelance for the Guardian on Sunday, Nigeria
  • Edward Echwalu, Freelance for the Observer, Uganda
  • Teresa Sofia Fortes, A Semana, Cabo Verde
  • Ramusel Alves De Carvalho Da Graca, Televisao Sao-Tomense, São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Peter Nkanga, Idris Akinbajo, Elor Nkereuwem, Musikilu Mojeed, Next on Sunday, Nigeria
  • Peter Nkanga, Next on Sunday, Nigeria

    For more:

  • Comment