Events & Conferencing news

Your industry
Events & Conferencing news

BWA announces awards judges

25 Jun 2014 13:36
The judges for the 35th Businesswoman of the Year Awards have been selected.
"We selected judges who have excelled and distinguished themselves in their areas of expertise, women who demonstrate strong leadership principals," says Liepollo Lebohang Pheko, president of Businesswomen's Association of South Africa (BWASA). "Furthermore, they understand the ethos of the awards."

The BWA board notes with regret that the category for women entrepreneurs did not have any qualifying nominees. "It is unfortunate that this year our entrants for the entrepreneur category did not meet our criteria. As we celebrate 20 years of democracy, this highlights that there is still much to be done to support women-owned business."

Corporate category

Anabel Vieira, a partner at Grant Thornton Pretoria and member of various boards and audit committees, will audit the corporate category. She has been involved in overseeing the judging process in electing the Businesswoman of the Year for a number of years. This category will be judged by:
    • Brenda Kali, director and co-founder of the Centre for Executive Renewal
    • Cristina Teixeira, chief financial officer of Group Five
    • Dawn Mokhobo, chairman of Wesizwe Platinum
    • Johanna Mukoki, co-founder of Travel with Flair
    • Prof Shirley Zinn, owner of Shirley Zinn Consulting
Government category

Ntokozo Mojapelo and Philippa Symington will audit the government category. This category will be judged by:
    • Ntombekhaya Qamata, senior manager: Centre of Excellence for the Road Accident Fund
    • Nana Magomola, executive director of SA Responsible Gambling Foundation (SARGF)
    • Paula Fray, MD of Frayintermedia
    • Dr Thandi Ndlovu, founder and executive chairman of Motheo Construction
LEGAL DISCLAIMER: This Message Board accepts no liability of legal consequences that arise from the Message Boards (e.g. defamation, slander, or other such crimes). All posted messages are the sole property of their respective authors. The maintainer does retain the right to remove any message posts for whatever reasons. People that post messages to this forum are not to libel/slander nor in any other way depict a company, entity, individual(s), or service in a false light; should they do so, the legal consequences are theirs alone. will disclose authors' IP addresses to authorities if compelled to do so by a court of law.
Read more: entrepreneurs, BWASA, judges