Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

More ministers and universities confirmed for Cape Town Innovation Summit

AfricanBrains is pleased to announce that even more African Ministers of Education, ICT, Communications and Science & Technology have confirmed their attendance at the Innovation Africa Summit taking place in Cape Town this 5-7 October. The Summit continues the overall aspiration of AfricanBrains to fulfil the need and opportunity for greater public private partnership in education, science and research in sub-Saharan Africa.
To date the confirmed Ministers are:
  • Botswana Minister of Education & Skills Development, Hon. Pelonomi Venson-Moiti
  • Burundi Minister of Higher Education & Scientific Research, Hon. Dr Julien Nimubona
  • Ethiopian Minister of Education, HE Ato Demeke Mekkonen
  • Kenya Minister of Education, Hon. Mitulu Kilonzo
  • Malawi Minister of Education, Science & Technology, Hon. Eunice Kazembe
  • Nigeria Minister of State for Education, Hon. Barr Ezenwo Nyesom Wike
  • South Africa Minister of Communications, Hon. Dina Pule
  • South Africa Deputy Minister of Higher Education and Training, Hon. Mduduzi Manana
  • South Africa Deputy Minister of Economic Development, Hon. Hlengiwe Mkhize
  • Swaziland Minister of ICT, Hon. Winne Magagula
  • Swaziland Minister of Education & Training, Hon. Wilson Ntshangase
  • Tanzania Minister of Education & Vocational Training, Hon. Dr Shukuru Kawambwa
  • Tanzania Deputy Minister of Communications, Science & Technology, Hon. January Makamba
  • Zambia Minister of Education, Hon. John Phiri
  • Zimbabwe Minister of Education, Hon. David Coltart
These Ministry representatives will host their own round tables and be available for pre-scheduled one-to-one meetings during the two afternoons of the summit.

In addition to reporting on confirmed ministerial participation, AfricanBrains is pleased to announce that along with one of the summit's co-hosts, The University of the Western Cape, a total of nine South African Universities have also confirmed their attendance. Various representative of each of these establishments, including Principals, Vice-Principals and Heads of Department will also host their own round tables and be available for the afternoon pre-scheduled one-to-one meetings.

To date the confirmed Universities are:
  • Durban University of Technology
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • North-West University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of South Africa
  • University of the Free State
  • University of the Western Cape (summit co-hosts)
  • Vaal University of Technology
Several Further Education and Training Colleges (FET's) are also attending. Additional Ministries, Universities and FET Colleges are expected to confirm in the coming weeks.

Do you represent a company or organisation in sub-Saharan Africa specialising in products or services in the education, ICT, science, technology and research sectors? Don't miss this unique opportunity to attend the summit either as a delegate or a corporate sponsor. Please register your interest by visiting

Enquiries can be made to AfricanBrains directly at .