Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

Africa Movie Academy Awards winners announced

Airtel Nigeria demonstrated its commitment to the development of the creative industry in Africa as it joined organisers of the Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) to honour, reward and celebrate accomplished African movie stars at an awards ceremony held at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Lagos on Sunday, 22 April 2012.
The event, which attracted international and African celebrities as well as notable personalities from other professions turned out to be a success as several movie actors, actresses, producers and writers received accolades for their hard work, creativity, passion and initiative in the movie industry.

Chairman of Airtel Networks Limited, Dr. Oba Otudeko delivered a speech in which he congratulated all the award recipients, and restated Airtel's passionate for creating credible platforms for celebrating and rewarding talented Africans.

Airtel supports the move and cinema industry

"At Airtel, we are excited to be supporting an industry that has brought laughter, joy, peace, excitement and happiness to many homes across the African continent including Nigeria. We all know that Africans love movies, and they particularly cherish movies that are made for Africa and by Africans. No wonder the movie industry has grown so big in the continent. Airtel recognises the beauty of the Africa movie industry and that is why we have thrown our full weight behind the 2012 AMAA. Today, we congratulate and felicitate with all the winners," he said.

Otudeko also stated that just as AMAA has rewarded key players in the movie and cinema industry and their fans, Airtel will continue to empower people across Nigeria and the African continent to communicate and sustain their business and relationship ties through borderless mobile telecoms services and other innovative, relevant and affordable offerings.

"In Africa, Airtel intends to be the number one telecommunications operator just as it intends to be the most loved brand in the daily lives of Africans. As a company that is passionate about building reputable platforms for the celebration of talented Africans and Nigerians, we will continue to support initiatives that will bring excitement and happiness to the door steps of all our stakeholders," Otudeko added.


Works and personalities that were honoured included:
  • Best Short Film: Braids On Bald Head - Nigeria
  • Best Documentary: African Election - Nigeria/Germany
  • Best Diaspora Feature: Toussanat Louverture - France
  • Best Diaspora Documentary: The Education of Auma Obama - Nigeria/Germany
  • Best Diaspora (Short Film): White Sugar In A Black Pot - USA
  • Best Animation:The Legend Of Ngog Hills - Kenya
  • Best Film by African living abroad: Mystery Of Birds - USA/Nigeria
  • Achievement in Production Design: Kunle Afolayan - Phone Swap- Nigeria
  • Achievement in Costume Design: Adesuwa - Nigeria
  • Achievement in Make-Up: Shattered - Kenya
  • Achievement in Soundtrack: Alero's Symphony (soundtrack done by ex-Plantashun Boiz star, Faze) - Nigeria
  • Achievement in Visual Effects: Adesuwa - Nigeria
  • Achievement in Sound: State Of Violence - South Africa
  • Achievement in Cinematography: Othelo Burning - South Africa
  • Achievement in Editing: How To Steal 2 Million - South Africa
  • Achievement in Screenplay: Ties That Bind - Ghana
  • Best Nigerian Film: Adesuwa
  • Best Film in an African Language: State Of Violence - South Africa
  • Best Child Actor: Tsepang Mohlomi (Ntwe) - Otelo Burning
  • Best Young/Promosing Actor: Ivie Okujaye (Alero) - Alero's Symphony
  • Best Actor in a Supportig Role: Fano Mokoena - Man On Ground
  • Best Actress in a Supportig Role: Terry Phetto - How To Steal 2 Million
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role: Majid Micheal - Somewhere In Africa
  • Best Actress in a leading Role: Rita Dominic - Shattered
  • Best Director: Charlie Vundla - How to Steal 2 Million
  • Prize for Best Film: How To Steal 2 Million - South Africa
  • Special jury Award: Akin Omotosho

View the gallery.