Subscribe to industry newsletters

Advertise on Bizcommunity

2011 Adobe Design Achievement Awards open for entries

JOHANNESBURG: The 11th annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards (ADAA) is now open for entries expanding its global reach to 15 languages and adding new categories for faculty and students. The awards ceremony will take place during the International Design Alliance (IDA) Congress in Taipei, Taiwan in October 2011.
The competition recognises the best student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers, developers and computer artists from accredited higher education institutions worldwide.

To recognise teaching excellence, Adobe has introduced three new categories for faculty. It has also added student categories in game design, web analytics and mobile analytics to award advances in these areas.

Acknowledging student excellence

"For over a decade, the Adobe Design Achievement Awards has acknowledged student excellence from the world's accredited higher education institutions. We are proud to extend our global reach and expand the program to honour the faculty and academic staff who nurture this student talent," said Ann Lewnes, senior VP of global marketing, Adobe.

"The mobile device explosion has pushed the demand for game designers and the need for companies to integrate analytics to measure the success of their applications. We anticipate interesting entries that push the envelope in these emerging areas."

Icograda, Adobe partnership

For the third consecutive year, Icograda (International Council of Graphic Design Associations) is endorsing and supporting the awards.

"The partnership between Icograda and Adobe creates a global collaboration between our educational networks," said Russell Kennedy, president of Icograda. "The new categories and addition of recognition for faculty and staff brings new opportunities to celebrate innovation in design education and reflect how quickly the field is advancing."

Free to enter, the competition is open to students, faculty members, and staff members of higher education institutions throughout the world.

New categories

Starting this year, the new faculty-and-staff categories are: Innovation in Education in Interactive Media, Innovation in Education in Video and Motion, and Innovation in Education in Traditional Media.

In addition, students have more opportunities to be acknowledged. They can enter twice per category throughout the call for entries period and submit work for three judging sessions. Semi-finalists will be selected during each judging session in all student categories except web analytics and mobile analytics.

Submission deadlines are 28 January 2011, 29 April 2011 and 24 June 2011. Finalists will be invited to attend the awards ceremony in Taipei, Taiwan in October 2011, and awarded software and cash prizes.

For detailed information about submission guidelines, deadlines, categories and more, go to