Subscribe to industry newsletters

BizTrends 2018

Advertise on Bizcommunity

MK Awards 2011 winners

Cape Town, 27 February 2011: The MK Awards 2011 was hosted on Saturday night at the CTICC in Cape Town. With 3 500 guests in attendance, the 5th MK Awards honoured the best in South African music by awarding 13 categories.
Mr. X and Die Heuwels Fantasties emerged as the winners for Best Neon, SFX and the prestigious Best Video Award. It was a poignant moment when Henre Pretorius accepted the Awards on behalf of his late brother, Herman Pretorius, who produced the track.

Taxi Violence ft Inge Beckman
Prime Circle

Other winners included Bobby van Jaarsveld, Monique and Snotkop, Prime Circle and Van Coke Kartel for the best Live Act. Die Heuwels Fantasties won Best Group and received a Hyundai H1 van as a prize. A lucky voter, Chantelle van der Merwe, walked away with a Hyundai i10 for the viewer prize.

The show was hosted by Corne and Twakkie and featured performances by Taxi Violence with Inge Beckmann, Jack Parow and JR, Die Heuwels Fantasties and Thieve, Zebra and Giraffe, Prime Circle, Foto na Dans and Van Coke Kartel. The Awards were presented by several MK personalities and fashion and sport celebrities.

The MK Awards received more than 560 000 votes through Facebook, MXit, SMS and the MK website, which speaks volumes about the support for SA music.

Foto na Dans
Van Coke Kartel

Mr. X feat Die Heuwels Fantasties for Hyg Duiwel

Best Group

Die Heuwels Fantasties for Doodgewone aand

Best Solo

Bobby van Jaarsveld for Net for jou

Best SFX/Animation

Mr. X feat Die Heuwels Fantasties for Hyg duiwel

Best Newcomer

Die Tuindwergies for Kopskudkinders

Best Feat/Colab

Monique & Snotkop for Ek val vir jou


Bobby van Jaarsveld for Spieeltjie


Mr. X feat Die Heuwels Fantasties for Hyg duiwel

Best International Hit

Eminem feat Rihanna for Love the way you lie

Best Campus Hit

Dans Dans Lisa for Sing in Skaamte nominated by PukFm

Best International Breakthrough Act

Prime Circle for Breathing


Snotkop for Parapapa

Best Live Act

Van Coke Kartel

Photography by Sean Brand