Subscribe to industry newsletters

BizTrends 2018

Advertise on Bizcommunity

Manufacturing Indaba 2018

Cape Town Concert Series programme announced

The Cape Town Concert Series is one of South Africa's leading chamber music presenters. The first season of concerts for 2013 consists of five concerts.

Saturday, 23 February

Phillipe Graffin (violin) and Annalien Ball (piano):
  • Sonata Op. 30, No. 1 by Beethoven
  • D Minor Partita for Solo Violin by Bach
  • Andante Rubato alla zingaresca by Dohnanyi
  • Sonata No. 3 by Enescu
  • Berceuse sur le nom de Fauré by Ravel
  • Tzigane by Ravel

Saturday, 23 March
Lukáš Vondrácek (piano):
  • Piano Pieces Op. 118 by Brahms
  • Piano Sonata No. 4, Op. 30 by Scriabin
  • Variations on a Theme of Corelli Op. 42 by Rachmaninov
  • Two Nocturnes by Chopin
  • Three Czech Dances by Martinu

Saturday, 20 April

The Cape Town Tango Ensemble presents "Piazzolla and Beyond". During the 1950s Piazzolla started his new style of music - Tango Nuevo - which took Tango music from the dance halls of Buenos Aires to the best concert halls of the world. This programme will explore his most important works and will also feature other music pieces inspired by him. The Tango ensemble of Stanislav Anguelov (bandoneon), Albert Combrink (piano), Charles Lazar (bass), and Piet de Beer (violin) will be joined by guest Peter Narun on guitar. Following the concert, audience members are welcome to join in for a Milonga (tango dance evening) in the foyer.

Saturday, 25 May

The "Korngold Project" unites in South Africa some of the most exciting musicians of their generation (Julian Arp, Daniel Rowland, Gareth Lubbe, and Luis Magalhães). This group of musicians have appeared together several times at the Stellenbosch International Chamber Music Festival performing these same works.
  • Korngold Piano Quintet in E major, Op. 15
  • Korngold Piano Trio

Saturday, 8 June

Vasilly Primakov (piano):
  • Two Rhapsodies, Op. 79 by Brahms
  • Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Op. 5 by Brahms
  • Sonata-reminiscenza in A minor, Op. 38, No. 1, from Forgotten Melodies by Medtner
  • Prelude for the Left Hand in C-sharp minor No. 1, Op. 9 by Scriabin
  • Sonata No. 3 in F-sharp minor, Op. 23 by Scriabin

All performances take place at The Baxter Theatre. Tickets are available from Computicket. For more information, go to