Winners of Sunday Times Top 100 Companies

The winners of the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies awards were announced at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg late last week, with the top award going to Capitec Bank Holdings, as the Top Company of the Year. Capitec won in 2010 and was ranked second last year.
Winners of Sunday Times Top 100 CompaniesThe Business Leader of the Year was Stephed Saad, Group CEO of Aspen Pharmacare and Bobby Godsell, chair of Business Leadership South Africa (former CEO of AngloGold Ashanti), received the Lifetime Achiever Award.

Ray Hartley, editor of the Sunday Times says, "Unlike many other corporate rankings, this rates companies by the extent to which they have increased the wealth of their shareholders." Riaan Stassen, CEO of Capitec Bank Holdings comments that, "The consistent growth on which this award is based, is a direct reflection of the client demand for our unique simplified bank offer."

New CSI award

This year's Corporate Social Investment (CSI) Leadership Award went to Sappi.

Commenting on the award, Marcia Klein, editor of Business Times says, "It is the first time we are awarding the Sunday Times Top 100 Corporate Social Investment Award, based on unique research done by Who Owns Whom. Research was taken from the BEE scorecards of nearly 1000 companies which were evaluated based on economic and socio economic development scores."

Sappi won this award for Project Grow, an initiative that created and sustained 9700 subsistence tree farmers and its Kwa Dukuza education initiative that annually assists over 600 matric learners.

Royal winners

This year, the royal companies, i.e. companies that have remained in the Top 20 company list for three consecutive years, include Assore, Capitec Bank, Clicks Group, Coronation Fund Managers, Famous Brands, Howden Africa, Kumba Iron Ore, Mr Price Group, Pinnacle Technology, Shoprite Holdings and Truworths International.

The results were published yesterday, 18 November 2012, in the Sunday Times.

Copyright © 2018 Bizcommunity.