Gloo becomes South Africa's first international Webby Awards judge

Gloo's Creative Director Pete Case, was honoured at the beginning of December with an invitation to join The International Academy of Arts and Science (IADAS) and also to become the first person from a South African Digital agency to judge the renowned Webby Awards.
Gloo becomes South Africa's first international Webby Awards judge
Having been recognised 5 times previously by the Webby's for creative work, Pete joins a respected group of international digital leaders to judge the world's largest web based awards. Pete has previously judged twice at The Clios and also at The One Show, The Dubai Lynx, The International Broadcast Design Awards, Loeries and The Bookmarks.

He comments "With the South African digital industry in such a growth curve and to be recognised by such a well respected institute as the IADAS, I think it's an amazing time for us to be part of this industry here in SA. I also feel like we've only just started to show people what we can really do and that the best is still to come."

Last year The Webby Awards attracted 10,000 entries from over 60 countries across the globe and was hailed as "The most prestigious award in the world" by the BBC. The 14th Webby awards, in New York on the 7th of June 2010, will honour excellence in interactive design, creativity, usability and functionality.

This news follows many firsts for Gloo in 2009, including Case being the only digital creative director to have joined South Africa's prominent Creative Circle committee.

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences was founded in 1998 to help drive the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes members such as Internet inventor Vint Cerf, political columnist Arianna Huffington, Real Networks CEO Rob Glaser, "The Simpsons" creator Matt Groening, R/GA Founder and Chairman Robert Greenberg, Virgin Atlantic Chairman and Founder Richard Branson, Crispin Porter + Bogusky Partner and Chief Creative Officer Alex Bogusky, and The Weinstein Company Co-Founder Harvey Weinstein. Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and WallPaper. The Annual Webby Awards generates over 750 million media impressions worldwide.
21 Dec 2009 09:52