

SADC-EU economic partnership agreement

On 1 June 2016, the European Council authorised, on behalf of the EU, the signature and provisional application of the economic partnership agreement (EPA) between the EU and the South African Development Community (SADC) EPA Group.



The South African Development Community EPA group comprises Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland.

The signing ceremony of the SADC-EU EPA will take place in Kasane, Botswana, this week, on 10 June 2016.

The economic partnership agreements are intended to enhance regional integration and economic development in the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries. They are based on the principle of asymmetrical market opening, meaning that they provide a better access to the EU market for ACP partners.

They notably offer unprecedented market opportunities for agricultural and fisheries products. EPAs replace the previous market access regime of unilateral preferences for ACP countries.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com