

Malaysia lifts travel ban on 8 African countries, citing wider Omicron spread

By Rozanna Latiff 28 Dec 2021

Malaysia has lifted a travel ban on eight southern African countries that had first reported the Omicron variant of the coronvirus, citing the greater spread of the variant worldwide, its health minister said on Tuesday.



Image: A man wearing a protective mask walks past Malaysia Airlines check in counter at Kuala Lumpur International Airport, amid the coronavirus disease (Covid-19) outbreak in Sepang, Malaysia 6 October 2020. Reuters/LimHuey Teng

The eight countries, which include South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Malawi, will remain on a list of nations deemed as high-risk, with travellers from those nations subject to additional restrictions upon arrival, minister Khairy Jamaluddin told reporters.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Reporting by Rozanna Latiff; editing by Ed Davies

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com