

2018 Savanna Comics' Choice Awards nominees announced

The nominees of the 2018 Savanna Comics' Choice Awards were announced at a press lunch at The Goliath Comedy Club in Johannesburg on 11 July 2018. The winners will be crowned at The Lyric Theatre in Johannesburg on 8 September 2018.

It has been a record year for the awards as 272 South African comedians will be vying for one of the 10 awards, whilst 53 entered from the continent to be crowned the Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year. There were 17 comedians honoured in the Lifetime Achievement category.



Some of this year's #SavannaCCA nominees and other comedians who attended the nominee announcement on 11 July 2018 in Johannesburg

A new category has been announced; The Comedy G Award was launched to celebrate the stalwarts of the industry. It recognises the comedians who produce great comedy night after night; the ones who simply grab the mic and work the room.

The nominees are:

Comedy G Award

David Kau Marc Lottering Loyiso Gola Alan Committie Celeste Ntuli

Savanna Newcomer of the Year

Lindy Johnson Tsitsi Chiumya Gilli Apter Nonto Rubushe

Next Level Award

Eric Jansen
Phil de Lange
Thabiso Mhlongo
CHIK ALJOY
Ebenhaezer Dibakwane

The Native Tongue Award

Skhumba Hlophe Thapelo King Flat Celeste Ntuli Mashabela Galane Siya Seya

The Flying Solo Award

Carvin Goldstone Celeste Ntuli Loyiso Gola Alfred Adriaan Skhumba Hlophe

The Comics' Pen Award

Kagiso Lediga Christopher Steenkamp Thenjiwe Moseley Lazola Gola *Happy Hour* by Dalin Oliver and Carl Weber

Best Friend of Comedy Award

On Fire Comedy
Goliath Comedy Club
Gino Fernandez
#ER Comedy What What
#BlacksOnly - David Kau

The Gamechanger Award

Carvin Goldstone Skhumba Hlophe Loyiso Gola Celeste Ntuli Kagiso Lediga

The Savanna Comic of the Year Award

Carvin Goldstone Mpho Modikoane Alfred Adriaan Skhumba Hlophe Robby Collins

The Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year

Basketmouth (Nigeria)
Carl Joshua Ncube (Zimbabwe)
Kansiime Anne Entertainer (Uganda)
Salvado (Uganda)
Charles Manase (Botswana)

The Chatz Connect Audience Choice Award

Abuti Lolo Summary Teboho Theoha Pele-Pele Mchunu Kwanda Radebe

The Lifetime Achievement Recipient

This year's prestigious Lifetime Achiever Recipient Award goes to **Pieter-Dirk Uys** for his invaluable contribution to the industry over the last 40 years. You'd be forgiven for not recognising him in the street, even though he is the person behind the most famous white woman in South Africa, Evita Bezuidenhout. A man whose work as a political satirist cannot be ignored, he is one of the few people that risked, through comedy, speaking the truth to those in power.

www.comicschoice.co.za

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com